Skip to main content

Periodicals

Primary sources for historical research

Digital collections

Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Index Online is an index to a very substantial collection of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Either through PIO, or separately, the reader can also access two full-text collections, British Periodicals and Periodicals Archive Online, which provide searchable full-text and page images of hundreds of periodicals of the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Web of Science (ISI)  [Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+)]
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.

American Periodicals  (1740-early 20th century)
Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

Rock's Backpages
Archive of U.S. and U.K. rock music magazines from the 1970s onwards.

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Online collection of academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other diverse periodicals.

http://www.unz.org
19th and 20th century (mostly) American periodicals in PDF. An idiosyncratic collection, but particularly rich in conservative magazines. Worth checking.

Reveal Digital Independent Voices Open access collection of magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press from the 1960s, including feminists, anti-war groups, African-Americans, Native-Americans and the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.

Indexes

Readers' Guide  (1890+; Select Full Text 1992+)
Indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals from the late 20th century.

Business Full Text  (1913+)
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals including the complete file of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957). Covers business in the first half of the 20th century. Full text begins with 1995.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts Full Text  (1913+)
Contains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983). Full text begins with 1997.

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service  (1915+) Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books  (1908+)
Index of articles from approximately 850 law journals and selected books with some full-text.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective  (1907-1984)

Education Full Text  (Indexing 1929+)

Other indexes -- to periodical literature in various languages, covering various time periods -- can be found at call number AI3 in the Trustee Reading Room and elsewhere.

Microform collections

Rare radical and labour periodicals, Great Britain [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 02267
Description: ser.1, pt.1-3; ser.2, pt.1

Alternative press collection [microform]
RECAP Microfilm S01161

The American religions collection. Series 1, Nontraditional American religions, Western esotericism from witchcraft to the new age [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 12128
85 reels (Part 1)
Printed guide: BL2525 .A54 2005
The American Religions Collection, one of the largest collections of materials on alternative religious movements and practices in the world, offers thousands of hard-to-find serials relating to 20th century non-traditional religions and splinter groups of larger religious bodies in North America.