Skip to main content

Periodicals

Primary sources for historical research

The history of periodical indexes

An introduction to periodical bibliography. Paul E. Vesenyi.Ann Arbor, Mich.: Pierian Press, 1974.
Annex A (TEMP) Z6941.V47

This dry-sounding monograph includes a very helpful history of periodical indexing from the 18th century through the mid-20th century.

Guide to Reference

The Guide to Reference has very useful coverage of reference tools for periodicals, arranged geographically. Browse to General Reference Works > Periodicals.

English-language periodicals

Magazines in the United States. James Playsted Wood. 3d ed. New York, Ronald Press [1971] Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) PN4877 .W6 1971

The magazine century : American magazines since 1900. David E. Sumner. New York : Peter Lang, c2010. Firestone PN4877 .S86 2010

A history of American magazines, 1741-1930. Frank Luther Mott. Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, c1958-1968
http://hdl.handle.net/2027/heb.00678

The popular magazine in Britain and the United States 1880-1960. David Reed. London : British Library, 1997.
Firestone PN5124.P4 R43 1997

Dictionary of nineteenth-century journalism in Great Britain and Ireland. General editors Laurel Brake & Marysa Demoor. Ghent, Belgium: Academia Press; London: The British Library, 2009.
Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) PN4728 .D527 2009

Victorian periodicals and Victorian society. Edited by J. Don Vann and Rosemary T. VanArsdel. Toronto; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, c1994.
Firestone PN5124.S6 V521 1994

Periodicals of Queen Victoria’s empire: an exploration. Edited by J. Don Vann and Rosemary T. VanArsdel. Toronto; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, c1996.
Firestone PN5124.P4 P47 1996

Two books of essays on 19th c. British magazines. The first is arranged by subject (science, agriculture, sport) and the second covers Australia & New Zealand, Canada, India, South Africa, and other outposts of the British empire.

Victorian Periodicals: Aids to Research

Periodicals in European languages

Histoire générale de la presse française. Claude Bellanger, et al., eds. Paris, Presses universitaires de France, 1969-
Firestone PN5174 .H5 1969
This five-volume set is the essential history of the press in France and covers the origins to 1975.

Lindemann, Margot. Geschichte der deutschen Presse. Berlin, Colloquium Verlag, 1966-1986. Firestone PN5204 .L563 1966 -- 4 vols.

Storia della stampa italiana. A cura di Valerio Castronovo e Nicola Tranfaglia.: Roma; Bari: Laterza, 1976-<1980 > Firestone PN5242 .S86 -- 6 vols.

The value of Wikipedia

Though the serious scholar will want additional information, for basic facts, it is worth searching wikipedia for articles about individual periodicals. Use "magazine" in your search, e.g. google "wikipedia time magazine."

Historical Guides to the World's Periodicals and Newspapers

The guides published by Greenwood Press in the series Historical Guides to the World's Periodicals and Newspapers generally include short essays on individual titles, arranged alphabetically. Coverage of the United States periodical press is excellent, and there are a few guides that address British or international titles. The reader should always skim the introduction, both for background information and because the editors generally list important periodicals for which they commissioned articles that did not appear in time for inclusion in the volume. Princeton has a complete set, but they are shelved in various libraries and locations. Many are cited in the Guide to Reference above.

  • American mass-market magazines.
    Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) PN4877 .A48 1990
  • Women’s periodicals in the United States: social and political issues.
    Firestone PN4879 .W614 1996
  • Women’s periodicals in the United States: consumer magazines.
    Firestone PN4879 .W6 1995
  • Black journals of the United States.
    Firestone PN4882.5 .D36
  • American Indian and Alaska native newspapers and periodicals.
    Firestone PN4883 .L57 1983 
  • Popular religious magazines of the United States.
    Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) PN4888.R4 P67 1995
  • Religious periodicals of the United States: academic and scholarly journals.
    Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) PN4888.R4 L5 1986
  • The conservative press in eighteenth-and nineteenth-century America.
    Firestone PN4888.C598 C66 1999
  • The conservative press in twentieth-century America.
    Firestone PN4888.C598 C664 1999
  • Regional interest magazines of the United States.
    Annex A, Forrestal (TEMP) Z6944.R44 R44 1990
  • Magazines of the American South.
    Annex A, Forrestal (TEMP) PN4893 .R54 1986
  • Trade, industrial, and professional periodicals of the United States.
    Annex A, Forrestal (TEMP) Z7164.C81 E49 1994
  • Corporate magazines of the United States.
    Annex A, Forrestal (TEMP) PN4888.E6 C67 1992
  • Business journals of the United States.
    Firestone Library (F) Z7164.C81 B978 1991
  • Military periodicals: United States and selected international journals and newspapers.
    Annex A, Forrestal (TEMP) Z6723 .U57 1990
  • International music journals.
    Mendel Music Library (SV): Reference ML128.P24 I6 1990
  • International film, radio, and television journals.
    Firestone Library (F) Z5784.M9 I485 1985
  • Consumer magazines of the British Isles.
    Firestone PN5124.P4 C58 1993
  • British literary magazines.
    Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) PN5124.L6 B74 1983
  • American literary magazines: the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
    Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) Z1231.P45 A43 1986
  • American literary magazines: the twentieth century.
    Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) Z1231.P45 A44 1992
  • American humor magazines and comic periodicals.
    Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) PN4880 .A46 1987
  • Science fiction, fantasy, and weird fiction magazines.
    Firestone PN3433 .T9 1985 
  • Children’s periodicals of the United States.
    Firestone PN4878 .K39 1984
  • Mystery, detective, and espionage magazines.
    Annex A, Forrestal (TEMP) PN3448.D4 C56 1983