Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latino/a/x Studies: Reference and Background Information

Introductions to Latino/a/x Studies

  • Oxford Bibliographies. Latino Studies
    Annotated bibliographies of the most recent and authoritative Latino Studies scholarship.
     
  • The Latino American Experience
    Wide-ranging online resource focusing on the history and culture of Latinos in the United States. Includes ready-reference sources, full-text titles, photographs, primary sources, and links to important web sites.
  • A Companion to Latina/o Studies. Juan Flores and Renato Rosaldo, eds. Malden, MA; Oxford: Blackwell, 2007.
    Available in print and online.
  • The Afro-Latin@ reader: history and culture in the United States. Miriam Jiménez Román and Juan Flores, eds. Durham:  Duke University Press, 2010.
    Available in print and online.
  • Hispanic New York:  a sourcebook.  Claudio Iván Remeseira, ed.  New York: Columbia University Press, 2010.
    Available in print and online.
  • Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States.  Nicolás Kanellos and Claudio Esteva-Fabregat, eds. Houston: Arte Público Press; Madrid: Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, 1993-. 4 vols.
    Contents: Vol. 1 History - Vol. 2 Anthropology - Vol. 3 Sociology - Vol. 4 Literature and art
    Available in print
     
  • Routledge Handbook of Chicano/a Studies. Abingdon, Oxon; New York, NY  Routledge, 2019.
    Available in print and online

General History

  • The Columbia History of Latinos in the United States since 1960. David G. Gutiérrez, ed. New York; Chichester: Columbia University Press, 2004.
    Available in print and online
  • Harvest of empire: a history of Latinos in America. Gonzalez, Juan. New York: Penguin, 2011.
    Available in print and online. Earlier editions also available. 
  • Hispanics in the United States:  a demographic, social, and economic history, 1980-2005.  Bergad, Laird W. and Herbert S. Klein.  Cambridge; New York:  Cambridge University Press, 2010. 
    Available in print and online.
  • Nueva York: 1613-1945. Edward J. Sullivan, ed.  New York: New York Historical Society; London: Scala, 2010.
    Available in print.

Biography

  • Dictionary of Hispanic Biography. Joseph C. Tardiff & L. Mpho Mabunda, eds.  New York: Gale, 1996.
    Available in print.

Web Portals and Research Guides

Encyclopedias

  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in contemporary politics, law, and social movements. Oxford, New York: Oxford University Press, 2015.
    Available in print and online.
     
  • Latinas in the United States: a Historical Encyclopedia. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2006.
    Available in print and online.
     
  • Latino History and Culture:  an Encyclopedia.  David J. Leonard and Carmen R. Lugo-Lugo, eds.  Armonk: M.E. Sharpe, 2010. 2 vols.
    Available in print and online
     
  • Encyclopedia of American Immigration. Pasadena:  Salem Press, 2010.
    Available in print and online.
     
  • Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics. Vol. 2, Hispanic Americans and Native Americans. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2000.
    Available in print and online.
     
  • Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies.  New York: Routledge, 2008.
    Available in print and online.

Dictionaries

  • Dictionary of Latino Civil Rights History.  Houston, TX: Arte Publico Press, 2006.
    Available in print and online.
  • Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2003.
    Available in print and online.
  • Key Terms in Latino/a Cultural and Literary Studies. Oxford: Blackwell Pub., 2007.
    Available in print.