Skip to Main Content

Latino/a/x Studies: Finding News

Recent News

  • Ethnic NewsWatch
    Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. This database is very helpful for identifying literature from the point of view of various racial and ethnic groups, including Latinos. Covers materials published 1960 to the present.
     
  • US Newsstream (Proquest Newsstand)
    Provides full text access to the New York Times (1995+) , the Wall Street Journal (1982+), the Los Angeles Times(1985+), the Washington Post (1987+), and the Chicago Tribune (1985+) and many other papers.
     
  • Nexis UNI
    Database of legal materials that also provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers. 
     
  • NewsBank
    Provides full-text of many major national and regional newspapers from the United States and around the world.
      
  • Factiva
    Full-text of many major national and regional newspapers.
      
  • Alternative Press Index
    Indexes radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
     
  • Alt-Press Watch
    Indexes radical and left journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change.  

Historical News

  • Hispanic American newspapers, 1808-1980
    Extensive full-text collection of Spanish-language and bilingual newspapers printed across the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
     
  • Hispanic Periodicals in the United States: Origins to 1960: A Brief History and Comprehensive Bibliography.  Nicolás Kanellos and Helvetia Martell, eds.  Houston:  Arte Público Press, 2000.
    Available in print and online. 
     
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    Provides retrospective full-text coverage of numerous US newspapers including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Washington Post, among many others. 
     
  • Newspapers.com World Collection
    Historical international newspapers collection. 
     
  • Finding U.S. Newspapers at Princeton
    Authoritative guide created and maintained by the History Librarian.  
      
  • Readers' Guide
    Retrospective indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada from 1890.
     
  • Alternative Press Index
    Indexes radical and left journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change.