Overview
Welcome to the Research Guide for Geosciences
This guide will assist you in conducting library research and in using the Princeton University Library resources and services. Use the tabs to start exploring the variety of tools and resources to assist you with your research. If you have any questions about basic or in-depth library research relating to climate science, geochemistry, geology, geophysics, and(or) paleoclimate, please contact me at ewild@princeton.edu
Thank you, and enjoy the day !
Emily
Meet Our Specialists – Emily Wild
Research sources for geosciences information
GeoRef – What is it? Subscription index to the international geological literature. Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and a wide variety of publications indexed by special bibliographies from international, national and regional geological surveys and societies. https://library.princeton.edu/resource/3810
GeoScienceWorld – What is it? Open-access index to international geosciences research by using GeoRef records. Subscription content for ebooks and ejournals.
-
Browse Collections by Publisher: https://pubs.geoscienceworld.org/pages/publishers
- OpenGeoSci: Now fully integrated with the GSW platform, OpenGeoSci is a free, public map based toolset that allows users to search for cross sections, charts, tables, figures, and data from GeoScienceWorld publications. The goal of OpenGeoSci is to further aid researchers in discovery of relevant valuable assets for academic research. https://pubs.geoscienceworld.org/pages/opengeosci
AAPG Datapages – What is it? An open-access index to AAPG publications and the publications for geologic/geosciences societies, includes open-access and subscription access to ebooks and ejournals http://archives.datapages.com/data/index.html
- Content partners: http://www.datapages.com/content-partners
-
Search by group or region, for example: Canada Group, Gulf Coast Group (USA), North Atlantic Margins, Pacific & Asia Group, Rocky Mountain Group (USA), Russia and Eastern Europe, South & Central America, Southwestern Group (USA), West Coast Group (USA)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Central Library https://library.noaa.gov/
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) – non-regulatory natural science agency in the Department of the Interior of the U.S. Government https://www.usgs.gov/
USGS near real-time data: https://www.usgs.gov/products/data-and-tools/real-time-data
-
Earthquakes, United States and Worldwide : https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/map
-
Volcanoes: https://volcanoes.usgs.gov/index.html
-
Water: https://waterdata.usgs.gov/nwis/rt and https://dashboard.waterdata.usgs.gov/app/nwd/
USGS online publications - reports, journal articles, book chapters, etc. : https://pubs.er.usgs.gov/
USGS search "everything at once option" : https://sciencebase.usgs.gov/
USGS open data catalog : https://data.usgs.gov/datacatalog
USGS geologic maps database : https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/ngmdb/ngmdb_home.html ; catalog text search: https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/ngm-bin/ngm_compsearch.pl ; catalog map view search : https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/mapview/
USGS Lexicon and Stratigraphy : U.S. Geologic Names Lexicon ("Geolex"), a National compilation of names and descriptions of geologic units. https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/Geolex/search
USGS & AASG Guidelines and Geologic Map Standards : https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/Info/
USGS topographic maps : catalog search : https://store.usgs.gov/maps ; catalog map view search : https://ngmdb.usgs.gov/topoview/
USGS Mineral Resources Online Spatial Data: https://mrdata.usgs.gov/
USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center : https://www.usgs.gov/centers/eros
-
Eyes on Earth Podcast: https://www.usgs.gov/centers/eros/science/eyes-earth
-
USGS EROS Archive: Explore the world’s largest civilian collection of images of the Earth’s surface. Find satellite images and data, aerial photography, elevation and land cover datasets, digitized maps, and our Image Gallery collections. https://www.usgs.gov/centers/eros/science/usgs-eros-archive-products-overview
-
EarthNow! Landsat Image Viewer: https://earthnow.usgs.gov/observer/
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Atomic Weights: https://iupac.org/what-we-do/periodic-table-of-elements/
USGS Atomic Weights Research: https://pubs.er.usgs.gov/search?q=Atomic+Weights
USGS Minerals Information : https://www.usgs.gov/centers/nmic
-
Mineral Commodity Summaries 2020: https://pubs.er.usgs.gov/publication/mcs2020
-
Find information by Commodity: https://www.usgs.gov/centers/nmic/commodity-statistics-and-information
-
Find information by Country: https://www.usgs.gov/centers/nmic/international-minerals-statistics-and-information
USGS Energy Resources : https://www.usgs.gov/energy-and-minerals/energy-resources-program/
-
World Oil and Gas Resource Assessments: https://www.usgs.gov/centers/cersc/science/world-oil-and-gas-resource-assessments
-
Wind Turbine Database : https://www.usgs.gov/energy-and-minerals/energy-resources-program/science/wind-energy
-
Uranium Resources & Environmental Assessment : https://www.usgs.gov/centers/cersc/science/integrated-uranium-resource-and-environmental-assessment
Scopus – What is it? Citation database with abstracts and linked references. https://library.princeton.edu/resource/4440
Web of Science – What is it? Citation database with abstracts and linked references. http://library.princeton.edu/resource/4136
Library Catalog (the Books+ tab on the library website, https://library.princeton.edu/) – What is it? Index of all the books and journals owned or subscribed to by Princeton University Library. Tip - to find journals do a “Journal Title” search in the catalog.
