Skip to Main Content

Art (History), Architectural History and Archaeology Resources: Art-related websites

This is a general guide to resources in these subjects.

List of websites & digital collections (A-B)

American Watercolors (PMA)
Archives of American Art collections
Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser (Perseus Digital Library)
ArtBabble
Artcyclopedia
arthist (H-Net information network for art history)
arthistoricum.net
Art History Resources on the Web
Art in America guide (museums/galleries/artists)
Artists' Books from the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis
Artists' Books Thesaurus
Artists' Lives (National Life Stories - BBC)
Audio, text and images related to British artists.
Artists in Canada
Artlex Art Dictionary
Artsource
ARTtheses database
From German and other universities and research institutes.
Art UK
Search across 3000+ public collections--museums, corporate, historic houses, etc.--in the UK.
ArtxHistory
"an inclusive framework for an open, equitable art history"
AskART.com
Avalanche Magazine Index
Bibliography of BIPOC Artists, Collectors, and Dealers (Frick)
Blouin Art Info
Blue Mountain Project
Princeton-produced digital archive of avant-garde periodicals in art, literature and music (1848-1923)
British Art History Resources (Walpole Society)

(C-L)

CAMEO (Conservation & Art Materials Encyclopedia Online)
Canadian Women Artists (and Architects) History Initiative
Catalogues Raisonnés database (IFAR)
CCCA Canadian Art Database
Census of Antique Works known in the Renaissance
Center for Jewish Art (Hebrew Univ.)
CLAROS (art on the semantic web)
Classical Art Research Centre (includes Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum)
Data Resources: Art,Culture,Leisure
Dictionary of Art Historians
Digital Art History Directory
Managed by Frick Collection staff, the DAHD is "the most inclusive and exhaustive listing of digital art history projects." Consult the FAQ if there are other projects that ought to be part of this directory: https://dahd.hcommons.org/faq/ .
Digital Cicognara Library
Digital Collections: Library of Congress (art/arch)
Digital Collections from the Met Museum Libraries
Digital Library: Art and Design (Smithsonian)
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
Discover Islamic Art
Documents of 20th-Century Latin American and Latino Art
Dutch Paintings of the Seventeeth Century (NGA)
Fashion History Timeline (FIT)
Getty Vocabularies (art terminology tools)
Glossary of Medieval Art and Architecture
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Met Museum)
Himalayan Art Resources
History of Collecting in America (archives directory-Frick)
Iconclass (classification system)
Illustrated Art and Satire Periodicals (Universitat Heidelberg)
International Dada Archive (U-Iowa)
Italian Renaissance Learning Resources (NGA)
Joconde (collections des musees de France)
Library & Archival Exhibitions on the Web
Luminous-Lint
photography resources (some content only available by subscription)

(M-Z)

Met Museum Exhibitions 1870-2012
Modern African Art (reading list)
Modern Art Iraq Archive
MoMA Exhibition History
MoMA Exhibition History (chronology)
Monoskop
"wiki for the arts, media and humanities"
Montias Database of 17th Century Dutch Inventories
Mother of all Art and Art History Links Pages
Multilingual Glossary for Art Librarians
Nazi-Era Cultural Property (Nat'l. Archives)
Nazi-Era Provenance Internet Portal
Print catalogues raisonnés database
Provenance guide (IFAR)
Provenance research (Getty)
Quilt Index
Saving Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Online (SUCHO)
U.S. Govt. Fine Arts Collection
UbuWeb
VIRCONA (Native North American visual artists database)
Voice of the Shuttle (see various topics)
WAAND (Women Artists Archives National Directory)
Wildenstein Plattner Institute
Online catalogues raisonnes, digital archives, and historical auction cats. (pre-1945) available.
WPA/New Deal Art by State

Last Updated: Aug 12, 2024 2:27 PM
URL: https://libguides.princeton.edu/artarchhistarch
Print Page

Subjects: Art & Archaeology

Tags: archaeology, architectural history, architecture, art_history, art_research