Online resources
Government information currently available on GPO Access is in the process of being migrated to this web site. Migration to this site will be completed in 2009.
Includes bills (full-text 1993 forward), history of bills, calendars, documents & reports (full-text 1995 forward), Congressional Record and its Index, public laws (full-text 1994 forward), the U.S. Code, Congressional Directory, and a history of line item veto notices.
House of Representatives Website
Includes legislative activity, roll call votes, calendars, schedules,
committees, and the U.S. Code.
Lexis-Nexis Congressional (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)
Includes the Congressional Record, bills and bill tracking (full-text 1989 forward), legislative histories, public laws (full-text 1988 forward), hearings (full-text of 30-40% from 1988 forward), documents (full-text 1995 forward), reports (full-text 1990 forward), committee prints (selective full-text 1995 forward), biographical, financial and voting information for members of Congress.
Includes legislative activity, roll call votes, calendars, schedules, committees,
the Congressional Record, and status information on treaties.
Journals
The Journal of the Senate and the Journal of the House of Representatives contain a record of the minutes of floor actions in the Senate and House as mandated by the U.S. Constitution. For a record of the actual debates see the Congressional Record. The Journal of the Executive Proceedings of the Senate (Senate Executive Journal) contains a record of the Senate proceedings relating to its functions of confirming presidential nominees and consenting to the making of treaties.
Paper holdings
- Journal of the House and the Senate, 1st-90th Congress (1789-1968): located in Recap, each cataloged separately by Congress and session (request retrieval through the Main Catalog)
- Journal of the House and the Senate, 91st Congress to date (1969- ): shelved at 0812.115q in Firestone stacks
- Journal of the Executive Proceedings of the Senate, v. 1 to date (1828- ): shelved at 0800.0998.2 in Firestone stacks
- Journal of the Senate (reprinted in the National State papers of the United States series), including Journal of the Executive Proceedings 1st-14th Congress (1789-1816/1817): shelved at KF45.G58 in Firestone stacks
- Journal of the House of Representatives (reprinted in the National State papers of the United States series), 1st-14th Congress (1789-1816/1817): shelved at KF46 .G58 in Firestone stacks
The Journals are also available in the CIS Serial Set Microfiche Collection located on C floor at C-16-F Firestone Library. A Century of Lawmaking from the Library of Congress provides browseable access to the Journals of the House/Senate and the Senate Executive Journal from the 1st-42nd Congress (1789-1873).
Depository Info

The general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge. For access information and hours, please consult the the online hours (choose "Firestone Library - Depository Access" from the drop down menu), Access Information Page, and the Firestone Access Office.
PLEASE NOTE: While the general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge, many of our U.S. Government resources, including many of the resources listed in this research guide, are not depository materials and may only be used by Princeton University students, faculty, and staff. This includes most of the electronic resources such as Lexis Congressional and Hein Online.
Princeton University Library adheres to the following policies set by the Goverment Printing Office: FDLP Internet Use Policy Guidelines and Depository Library Public Service Guidelines for Government Information in Electronic Formats.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait