Services
Special Collections
The Department of Special Collections is one of the premier repositories of its kind. Its holdings span five millennia and five continents, and include around 300,000 rare or significant printed works; 30,000 linear feet of textual materials, ranging from cuneiform tablets to contemporary manuscripts; a wealth of prints, drawings, photographs, maps, coins, and other visual materials; the Cotsen Children's Library; and the Princeton University Archives. The recently-gifted Scheide
Library is also associated with the Department. Galleries are located within Firestone Library and the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. More detailed information about can be found on the Princeton University Library Exhbitions page. Special Collections website.
Marquand Library of Art & Archaeology
C-Floor is the temporary home to Marquand Library while the Art Museum is being rebuilt. They anticipate moving back into their building in summer 2025. For now, all materials held at Marquand are located at an off-site storage facility, but are available through request. Marquand website.
Technology
Book Eye Scanner
Spaces
Graduate Study Rooms
Dedicated workspace and collections for graduate students. These spaces are assigned by the academic departments.
- Comparative Literature
- English
- Sociology
Jefferson Papers
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson, established at Princeton University, is preparing the definitive scholarly edition of the correspondence and papers written by America's author of the Declaration of Independence and third president. Since the publication of Volume 1 by Princeton University Press in 1950, the project has been publishing, in chronological sequence, not only the letters Jefferson wrote but also those he received. Jefferson Papers website.
Collections
- Language and literature
- Science
- Medicine
- Agriculture
- Technology
- Military science
- Naval science
- Publishing
- Library science
- Bibliography
- Near East collections
- Extra-large books