Skip to Main Content
Research GuidesGuides

Firestone Library Virtual Tour

Welcome to the virtual, self-guided tour of Firestone Library! Use this as you make your way around the building to learn more about this branch of Princeton University Library.

Services

Data & Statistical Services Lab

Data and Statistical Services (DSS) provides data and statistical consulting. Experts are available to advise Princeton University student, faculty, and staff on choosing appropriate data, application of quantitative research methods, the interpretation of statistical analyses, data conversion, and data visualization. DSS website.

Economics & Finance Databases/Terminals

  • Bloomberg
  • CapitalIQ
  • CBonds
  • Haver Analytics (DLX Icons)
  • Morningstar Direct
  • Refinitiv (formerly Datastream)
  • SDC Platinum
  • TickWrite

Technology

  • Open computers
  • Microform readers
  • Video viewing machines

Spaces

Open Seating

  • Study carrels
  • Chang Reading Room
    • Houses the History reference collection

Library Classroom

Dedicated space for librarians to hold workshops and classes on research and the library

 

 

 

Librarian Offices

Area & Cultural Studies
Social Sciences
Humanities
  • African Studies
  • African American Studies
  • Gender & Sexuality Studies
  • Hellenic Studies
  • Indigenous Studies
  • Judaic Studies
  • Latin American & Iberian Studies
  • Latino Studies
  • Near Eastern Studies
  • Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies
  • South Asian Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Economics & Finance
  • Industrial & Labor Relations
  • Law
  • Politics
  • Classics
  • Comparative Literature
  • German Language & Literature
  • History
  • Linguistics
  • Literature (English, American French & Italian)
  • Philosophy
  • Religion
  • Spanish & Portuguese Literature

Graduate Study Rooms

Dedicated workspace and collections for graduate students. These spaces are assigned by the academic departments. 

  • Hellenic Studies
  • History
  • Near East Studies

Conservation & Preservation Lab

The Conservation Lab houses the Library’s Preservation & Conservation Department, where specialized staff work to care for the Library’s physical collections. Their work includes conservation treatment, as well as creating protective boxes, conducting scientific analysis, and managing programs to prevent harm to the collections. Secure, staff-only space.

Digital Imaging Studio

The Digital Imaging Studio has 10 photographers contributing to PUL’s Digitization Strategy. High resolution photography is done for coordinated projects in one of four categories: Large, Small, Exhibition, and Evergreen projects. The Digital Imaging Studio works with collections from all departments. Secure, staff-only space.

Collections

  • History and history reference
  • Government documents
  • United States Censuses
  • Newspapers, current issues
  • Periodicals, current issues
  • Near East periodicals
  • United Nations documents