Table of Contents
Show All
Chosŏn Ilbo
- Choson Ilbo Archives This link opens in a new windowThe Chosŏn Ilbo = 조선일보 (朝鮮日報) Archive is a full-text online newspaper starting from 1920 and includes over 2.6 million articles in Korean. An average of 6,000 pages are added each year. Licensed to Princeton University.
Chosŏn ŏllon chŏngbo kiji
- Chosŏn ŏllon chŏngbo kiji This link opens in a new windowChosŏn ŏllon chŏngbo kiji = 조선 언론 정보 기지 (KPM) is a full-text database of North Korean newspapers and periodicals. The database includes four newspapers in Korean (Nodong sinmun, Minju Chosŏn, Munhak sinmun, T’ongil sinbo) and one in English (The Pyongyang Times). It also includes 22 periodicals in humanities & social sciences and 41 periodicals in science & medicine.
Chosŏn Wangjo Sillok
- Chosŏn Wangjo Sillok = The Annals of the Joseon dynasty This link opens in a new windowChosŏn Wangjo Sillok = 조선왕조실록 (朝鮮王朝實錄) database is made freely available to the public by Kuksa Pyŏnch'an Wiwŏnhoe (National Institute of Korean History). It includes 28 different sets of chronological records, and each set covers one ruler's reign of Chosŏn Dynasty. Texts are available both in in classical Chinese and translations into Korean. Scanned images of original volumes are also available.
Collection of Korean Geography, Customs and History DB
- Collection of Korean Geography, Customs and History DB This link opens in a new windowA collection of 400 volumes on geography, customs and history of Korea published by the Governor-General of Korea between the late Chosen period and 1945. Searchable text and images are in Japanese.
Colonial Period Korea Online
- Colonial Period Korea Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of rare books and documents relating to the Japanese occupation of Korea, from the late nineteenth century up to 1945, mostly in Korean, Japanese, and English. Individual titles are listed in the library catalog.
DB of Korean Classics
- DB of Korean Classics This link opens in a new windowDB of Korean Classics = 한국 고전 종합 DB provides original text images, electronic texts, and translations of Korean classics written in Hanmun (Classical Chinese used in Korea). Hanguk Munjip Chonggan (Comprehensive Edition of Korean Literary Collections) is included.
DBPia
- DBPia This link opens in a new window
DBPia is a full-text database of over two million articles from 2,000+ journals and periodicals published by academic and research institutes in South Korea. The database covers subjects such as business/economics, theology, education, sociology, theology, natural science, human science, linguistics, law/administration, etc. Licensed to Princeton University.
E-Article
- E-Article This link opens in a new windowE-Article = 이아티클 is a full-text database of 2,000+ journals and periodicals published by academic and research institutes in South Korea. The database covers subjects such as humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, engineering, medical science, pharmaceutics, agriculture, etc. Licensed to Princeton University.
Historical Resources for Relations between Korea and Japan DB
- Historical Resources for Relations between Korea and Japan DB This link opens in a new windowAbout 20,000 articles on Korea-Japan relations extracted from Samguk sagi, Samguk yusa, Koryŏsa, Koryŏsa chŏryo, and Chosŏn wangjo sillok. Includes original text images in classical Chinese and translation in Korean. All text is searchable.
History Culture Series
- History Culture Series This link opens in a new windowHistory Culture = 역사문화시리즈 Series is a multimedia contents database dedicated to Korean history and culture. The database covers subjects such as archeology, Korean history, and art history in 17 titles. Licensed to Princeton University.
KINDS
- KINDS This link opens in a new window
KINDS (Korean Integrated Newspaper Database System) is a one-stop search portal for newspaper articles published in South Korea. It provides article search for over 50 dailies in Korean from Seoul and other regions, and 2 English dailies. It also services images of old Korean newspapers dating from 1883 to 1963. Click here for the complete list of the covered newspapers
KISS
- KISS This link opens in a new windowKISS (Korean Studies Information Service System) = 한국 학술 정보 데이터베이스 provides a database that has over one million full-text articles from 1,000+ journals and periodicals published by academic and research institutes in South Korea. The database covers subjects such as languages, history, philosophy, literature, education, sociology, business/economics, law, science, mathematics, agriculture, engineering, medical science, arts, physical education, etc. Licensed to Princeton University.
KoreaA2Z
- KoreaA2Z This link opens in a new windowKoreaA2Z is a database of 110 academic contents in general reference, journalism, history, geography, law, religion, philosophy, traditional culture, natural science, and oriental medicine. Licensed to Princeton University.
Korean History & Culture Research Database
- Korean History & Culture Research Database This link opens in a new windowKorean History & Culture Research Database = 한국 역사·문화 조사자료 데이터베이스 is a database of excavation reports and provides a full-text articles in history, archeology, anthropology, literature, and folklore in approximately 4,500 volumes from 76 organizations. Licensed to Princeton University.
Korean History On-Line
- Korean History On-Line This link opens in a new windowKorean History On-LineKorean History On-Line = 한국 역사 종합정보 시스템 provides a database of Korean history resources, freely available to the public by Han'guk Yŏksa Chonghap Chŏngbo Sentŏ. Participating organizations include the National Institute of Korean History, the National Library of Korea, the Academy of Korean Studies, the Kyujanggak Institute of Korean Studies, etc.
Korean Textbook Reprint Collection
- Korean Textbook Reprint Collection (1446-1969)The Korean Textbook Reprint Collection (1446-1969) (우리의 고전과 옛 교과서 = Uri ŭi kojŏn kwa yet kyogwasŏ) is a compilation of digital images featuring 629 volumes of educational books and school textbooks published in Korea from 1446 to 1969. The collection is divided into five sets based on historical dates: Set 1 (1446-1897: Chosŏn dynasty, 66 vols), Set 2 (1897-1910: Korean Empire, 158 vols), Set 3 (1910-1945: Japanese occupation, 123 vols), Set 4 (1945-1953: Liberation and Korean War, 164 vols), Set 5 (1953-1969: Post-Korean War, 118 vols).
KRpia
- Krpia This link opens in a new windowKRpia provides over 1,900 titles of reference contents in architecture, history, literature, folklore, art and culture, religion, classics, oriental medicine, etc. Licensed to Princeton University.
KSDC DB
- KSDC DB This link opens in a new windowKSDC DB is provided by 한국 사회 과학 데이터 센터 (Korean Social Science Data Center) and includes questionnaires and raw data produced by government organizations and public institutions in South Korea. 2,200+ survey data and 1,300+ aggregate data in various topics are currently available. Licensed to Princeton University.
Kukhoe Chŏnja Tosŏgwan
- Kukhoe Chŏnja Tosŏgwan = 국회 전자도서관Kukhoe Chŏnja Tosŏgwan = 국회 전자도서관 is a digital collection serviced by the National Assembly Library of South Korea. The collection includes: monographs, periodicals, theses and dissertations published in South Korea after 1945, legislative documents, discontinued newspapers, etc. Accessible on public computers in the East Asian Library.
Kyŏngsŏng Ilbo
- Keijo nippo = Kyungsung ilbo This link opens in a new window
This is a scanned version of the Keijō Nippō (Kyŏngsŏng Ilbo, also spelled Kungsung Ilbo), a Japanese language newspaper published in Korea during the Occupation Period. Current content is from 1907 to 1935. Access is by date only; results are in pdf format.
LawnB
- LawnB This link opens in a new windowLawnB = 로앤비 is a legal information service that provides a collection of South Korean legal materials on-line including law information, judicial precedent, administration data, laywer and law firm information, etc. Licensed to Princeton University.
MBC Archive
- MBC Archive This link opens in a new windowMBC Archive provides over 200,000 multimedia items consisting of TV programs including daily news programs (except TV dramas), radio programs, and related images produced by Munhwa Broadcasting Corporation (MBC) in South Korea.
Licensed to Princeton University.
Secure Remote Access (SRA) required for off-campus users
Moazine
- Moazine This link opens in a new windowMoazine = 모아진 is full-text database of over 200 Korean magazines of various topics currently published in South Korea. Back issues are available up to 10 years. Licensed to Princeton University.
Naver News Library
- Naver News Library This link opens in a new windowNaver News Library is a digital news archive service open to the public. The database Includes four newspapers: Kyŏnghyang Sinmun (京鄕新聞), Tonga Ilbo (東亞日報), Maeil Kyŏngje (每日經濟), Han'gyŏre Sinmun (한겨레신문). Full-text search by date, keyword, etc. is available and texts are provided in images and electronic texts
NDSL
- National Digital Science Links This link opens in a new windowNDLS (National Digital Science Links) = 과학기술정보 통합서비스 provides a database of science and technology resources, freely available to the public by KISTI (Korea Institute of Science Technology Information). As of Mar. 2009, approximately 43 million academic articles are available for full-text access in four languages: 42 million in English, 514,000 in Chinese, 90,000 in Japanese, and 263,000 in Korean.
Northeast Asian History Network
- Northeast Asian History Network (Tongbuga Yŏksa Net) This link opens in a new windowTongbuga Yŏksa Net = 동북아 역사넷 provides academic publications on Northeast Asia published by Northeast Asian History Foundation. The database includes access to electronic journals including Journal of Northeast Asian History in English and other journals in Korean published by the Foundation.
RISS International
- RISS International This link opens in a new windowRISS International is an integrated database search of full-text journal databases (include KISS and DBPia) and provide links to those databases. It also services theses & dissertations held in more than 150 universities in South Korea, and over 7 million bibliographic records. Licensed to Princeton University.
Sŭngjŏngwŏn Ilgi
- Sungjongwon Ilgi = The Daily Records of Royal Secretariat of Chosun Dynasty (1623-1894) This link opens in a new windowSŭngjŏngwŏn Ilgi = 승정원 일기 (The Daily Records of Royal Secretariat of Chosun Dynasty) is an administrative reference to important court affairs recorded from King Injo to King Sunjong of Choson Dynasty (1623 to 1910). This on-line database covering dates from 1623 to 1903 includes scans of original texts, texts in Classical Chinese, and translation into Korean.
Yŏnhaengnok ch’onggan chŭngbop’an
- Yŏnhaengnok ch’onggan chŭngbop’an This link opens in a new windowYŏnhaengnok ch’onggan chŭngbop’an = 燕行錄叢刊 增補版 is a compilation of travelogues written by Korean envoys who traveled to China between 13th and 19th centuries. The database services original text images browsable by century, king, and author. Indexes and contents are in Hanmun (Classical Chinese).
Licensed to Princeton University.
