Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia and companions
Research works and authors
New to Article+? Check out the sidebar on the right.
Children's Literature Review
Presents literary criticism on writers and illustrators for children and young adults (Part of Gale Literature Criticism Online).
Library holdings of scholarly works on children's literature.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes millions of citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
Provides access to full-text books and journal articles in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences.
Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
Indexes education research found in journal articles, books, and grey literature, many of which are available in full-text. (Also offered for free by the U.S. Department of Education at https://eric.ed.gov/)
Major scholarly journals
(more are available via the library online catalog
Cotsen reference collection
Contains over a thousand titles of bibliographies, catalogs, biographies, and other reference sources for researching children's materials, authors, and illustrators.
What is Article+?
Articles+ is your one-stop shop for obtaining scholarly articles. At its backend is a search engine that indexes across the databases to which the Princeton University Library subscribes from a large number of publishers and vendors. It is quick and convenient, a great place to start your search.
There are occasions where it is more useful to visit individual journals or databases. For example, you are aware that a journal has produced a special issue on a topic of interest and you would like to browse the entire issue. The browsing functionality is usually better supported by the article database where the electronic journal lives.
What is a citation search?
Citation searching is a way of finding relevant research by looking at what an article has referenced and who has since used that article as a reference. Databases and online tools that support citation searching: