Encyclopedias
Databases
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowDetailed guides to a wide variety of disciplines, including childhood studies.
- Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920 This link opens in a new windowComprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.
- Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new windowCollection of illustrated catalogs offering products for direct sale to consumer, from late 18th century to present day. Useful for the study of popular culture, material culture, social norms and attitudes, as well as the history of marketing, business, and technology. Includes capsule histories of important retail companies.
Monographs and articles
Useful search terms
- child | children | youth | girls | boys
- media | television programs | animated films
- games | play | toys | dolls | popular culture | material culture
- sex role | gender role | masculinity | body image
- violence | juvenile delinquents
External sites
- The Strong: National Museum of Play online collectionsThe Strong is home to the world’s largest and most comprehensive collection of toys, dolls, board games, video games, electronic games, and other play-related artifacts.
- University of Waterloo: Elliott Avedon Virtual Museum of GamesVirtual exhibits of games and game-related objects from around the world.
- Boston Children’s MuseumThe Museum’s collections of Americana, Natural History, Global Culture, Native American, Dolls and Dollhouses, and Japanese artifacts encompass more than 50,000 items.