| Bibliographies of juvenile books | |
| Juvenile books about indigenous peoples and cultures | Juvenile books about Black people and cultures |
| Juvenile books about Latino people and cultures | Juvenile books about Asians and Asian Americans |
| Juvenile books about disability | Children's and YA books about LGBTQIA+ |
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowComprehensive online catalog of library holdings from all over the world. Check Worldcat for materials that are not available at Princeton. Eligible items may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. (A free version of the database is accessible at https://www.worldcat.org/)
For multicultural books
- Bates College: the Diverse BookFinderIndexes over 3,000 children's picture books published since 2002 and featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC).
- University of Wisconsin-Madison: The Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) Advanced Book SearchIndexes over 8,500 books recommended by the CCBC, with an emphasis on multicultural themes.
For international and global literature
- Global Literature in Libraries Initiative Library CatalogA catalog of contemporary foreign-language and translated children's and YA literature. Browsable by language of origin.
- Publishers Weekly: Translation DatabaseTracks all original publications of fiction and poetry published in the U.S. in English translation. The database was founded in 2008 by Three Percent and Open Letter Books at the University of Rochester.
For books that support K-12 curriculum
- California Department of Education: Recommended LiteratureA searchable database that indexes books for children and teens by grade level and discipline.
- Living MathLists book titles by mathematical topics and grade levels; compiled by Julie Brennan.
- The Mathematical Fiction DatabaseA browsable and searchable database for works of fiction (novels, comic books, TV shows, films, plays, etc.), indexed by mathematical content. Compiled by Alex Kasman, a professor of mathematics at the College of Charleston.
For picture books
- Miami University: Children's Picture Book DatabaseIndexes over 5,800 picture books for children, preschool to grade three; searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects.
Other
- University of Warsaw: Our Mythical Childhood SurveyThe database tags literature and media for children and young adults with motifs from the traditional mythologies reflected in the works.
Bibliographies of children's book awards and winners
Aggregate lists
- Database of Award-Winning Children's LiteratureCreated by Lisa R. Bartle, the searchable database indexes award-winning children's book titles across 162 awards in six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland).
- American Library Association Literature and Media AwardsALA's literature award winners and various notable reading lists.
- Awards and Best-of-the-Year ListsCompiled by the Cooperative Children's Book Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
International and global
- The NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature (2003- )Awarded every other year to a living writer or author-illustrator with significant achievement in children’s or young-adult literature.
- Nami Island International Picture Book Illustration Concours 나미콩쿠르 (2013- )A biennial international competition held in Korea for children's book artists.
- The Global Literature in Libraries Translated YA Book Prize (2019- )Recognizes publishers, translators, and authors of books in English translation for young adult readers.
STEM
- The Cook Prize (2012- )Honors the best science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) picture book for children aged eight to ten.
- The Mathical Book Prize (2015- )The annual award recognizes fiction and nonfiction books that inspire children of all ages to see math in the world around them.
Children's choice
- Children's & Teen Choice Book Awards (2008- )The only national book awards program where the winners are selected by kids and teens of all ages.
- Irma Black Award for Excellence in Children’s LiteratureThe Irma Black Award goes to an outstanding book for young children--a book in which text and illustrations are inseparable, each enhancing the other to produce an organic whole. Children are the final judges of the winning book.
Non-English
- Best Spanish Language Picture Book Award (2020- )The biennial prize honors a picture book that is published in or translated into Spanish.
- Feng Zikai Chinese Children’s Picture Book Award 丰子恺儿童图画书奖 (2009- )The biannual award honors writers and illustrators for Chinese-language children's picture books.
- Hsin-Yi Children's Literature Award 信誼幼兒文學獎 (1988- )Honors Taiwanese picture books to promote early childhood literacy.
- Hsin-Yi Picture Book Award 信谊图画书奖 (2010- )Honors picture books from mainland China and Taiwan to promote early childhood literacy.
- Major children's literature awards in Japan 日本の主な児童文学賞一覧Compiled by the International Library of Children's Literature, National Diet Library.
Major book review databases (more are available via Princeton's database portal):
- Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text book reviews or review citations, with extensive coverage of books for children and teens.
- Books in Print This link opens in a new windowInformation on publications, including in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios and videos. Provides book reviews.
Major children's book review magazines (more are available via the library online catalog):
Cotsen print catalogs and bibliographies
A Catalog of the Cotsen Children's Library: the pre-1801 imprints, the 19th century, and the 20th century
Describes the collection of printed books gifted by Lloyd E. Cotsen to Princeton University up to the year 2000. Covers titles from the 16th through the 20th century, totaling over 20,000 entries.
The Beatrix Potter Collection of Lloyd Cotsen
Catalogs the Cotsen collection of Beatrix Potter manuscripts, original art, photographs, and related ephemera. With illustrations and photographs.
Education in the Earliest Schools: Cuneiform Manuscripts in the Cotsen Collection
A catalogue of the nearly two hundred tablets from the Cotsen collection of ancient school texts, the greater number of these dating from the Old Babylonian period. With illustrations.
The Dartons: Publishers of Educational Aids, Pastimes & Juvenile Ephemera, 1787-1876
A catalogue of alphabet tiles, battledores, block puzzles, cards, jigsaw puzzles, educational aids, board games, maps, map samplers, picture sheets, scrolls and writing sheets published by the Darton firms.
The Dawn of Wisdom: Selections from the Japanese Collection of The Cotsen Children's Library
Highlights items from the Cotsen collection of Japanese books and printed matter for children, the majority of which date from the Edo period through the end of World War II. With illustrations.
Virtue by Design: Illustrated Chinese Children's Books From The Cotsen Children's Library
Highlights items from the Cotsen collection of Chinese illustrated publications for children, the majority of which date from the late Qing dynasty through the 20th century. With illustrations.
A Catalogue of the Morris L. Parrish Collection of Victorian Novelists in the Princeton University Library: Draft
A catalog of the works of primarily 28 Victorian novelists collected by Morris L. Parrish; among them are Charles Lutwidge Dodgson (Lewis Carroll) and J. M. Barrie. In PDF files.