SAS 328/COM 352/ASA 328: South Asian American Literature and Film

Reference works are useful for orienting yourself to a given topic and for pointing you toward other resources that can help with your research.

• Works on South Asian Diasporas, Literature, and Film

  • Routledge Handbook of South Asian Diaspora
    • ​See this entire title for topics on migration to the U.S., literature, and film. 
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Diaspora Hinduism
    • Annotated bibliographies by experts in the field about particular topics.
    • Tip: On the left side of the page under "In This Article", navigate to "Regional Studies", then select "North America."
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Diasporas
    • Annotated bibliographies by experts in the field about particular topics.
    • Tip: On the left side of the page under "In This Article", navigate to "East and South Asian Diasporas."
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
    • See the entry for Diasporas, under which there is a section on "Diasporas and Migration in South Asia."
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Transnational and Diasporic Cinema
    • Tip: On the left side of the page under "In This Article", navigate to "Regionally Based Transnational and Diasporic Production and Reception", then select "South Asia."
  • Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Literature
    • See the entry for South Asian American Visual Culture and Representation. 
    • See the entry for Reading South Asian American Literature.
  • Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media Studies
    • Annotated bibliographies by experts in the field about particular topics.

• Collections of Reference Works on different subjects

  • Routledge Handbooks Online
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Oxford Reference