Skip to main content

Finding British government documents at Princeton

Need an introduction?

Cabinet office records (guide from the UK National Archives)

Cabinet papers

Cabinet Papers 1915-1978
Selections from the 20th century Cabinet Papers on the web site of the UK National Archives. Arranged by topic; searchable. CAB 23, CAB 24, CAB 65, CAB 66, CAB 67, CAB 68, CAB 128, CAB 129, CAB 181 and CAB 195.

Macmillan Cabinet Papers  (1957-1963) CAB 128, CAB 129, CAB 134 (in part),  PREM 11

CAB 37: Cabinet papers, 1880-1916 [microform]
MICROFILM 12606
48 reels
Printed guide: none
Microfilm of CAB 37/1-162. " This series consists of a collection of photographic copies of memoranda circulated to the Cabinet to the end of 1916 compiled from various official and private sources."

CAB 41: Cabinet letters in Royal Archives, 1868-1916 [microform]
MICROFILM 12607
12 reels
Printed guide: none
Microfilm of CAB 41/1-37. "This series consists of prints made from microfilm of letters in the Royal Archives at Windsor, written by Prime Ministers to the Sovereign to report proceedings at Cabinet meetings. The letters vary from brief statements of subjects discussed to more detailed accounts of arguments made and decisions reached. Most letters appear to have been written on the same day as the Cabinet meeting; but when a letter refers to a meeting on a previous day the series list shows the date of the meeting in square brackets.

The Papers of Neville Chamberlain  Archives Unbound
From the University of Birmingham Library. Chamberlain was Prime Minister from 1937-1940.

CAB 50 & 51: Cabinet papers [microform]: complete classes from the CAB & PREM series in the Public Record Office. Series two, CAB 50 & 51, The papers of the Committee of Imperial Defence - papers of the Oil Board, 1925-1939 [and Middle East Questions, 1930-1939] (CAB 50/1-19 & CAB 51/1-11)
Microfilm 11674
13 reels
Printed guide: DA578 .C324
See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/ digital_guides/cabinet_papers_series_2/CabinetPapersSeries2_index.aspx

CAB 128 & 129: Macmillan Cabinet Papers  (1957-1963)

Cabinet papers [microform]: complete classes from the CAB & PREM series in the Public Record Office. Series three, CAB 128 & CAB 129, Cabinet conclusions & cabinet memoranda, 1945 and following.
Microfilm 10679
100 reels
Printed guide: CD1052.5 .A5
Covers the governments of Attlee, 1945-1951; Churchill & Eden, 1951-1957; Macmillan & Douglas-Home, 1957-1964; Wilson 1964-1970; Heath, 1970-1974. Online guides: http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/c.aspx

Cabinet reports by Prime Ministers to the Crown, 1868-1916
Microfilm 01708
13 reels
Printed guide: none
Microfilm reproduction of "the series of manuscript letters preserved in the Royal Archives at Windsor Castle." Cabinet letters at Windsor, 1868-1916, an index to the reports issued by the List and Index Society in 1965, filmed preceding the manuscripts.

World War I

First World War: Personal Experiences
Digital collection documenting the personal experiences of soldiers and civilians in World War I.

Trench journals and unit magazines of the first world war

War Diaries from the Imperial War Museum: the Great War in British Online Archives

Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
Consists of a wide range of materials from the collections of the Imperial War Museum.

CAB 23: War Cabinet papers [Minutes, 1916-1922] [microform]
MICROFILM 12604
16 reels
Printed guide: none
Microfilm of material from CAB 23 in the UK National Archives. "This series consists of the minutes and conclusions of the War Cabinet, December 1916 to October 1919, and of the Cabinet, from November 1919 to September 1939 including the conclusions noted in the Secretary's File. The series contains also: the A minutes of the War Cabinet, including the more secret matters not entered in the ordinary minutes; the X minutes, which note conversations on military affairs between May and November 1918; conclusions of Conferences of Ministers, from November 1919 to September 1922; and minutes of the Imperial War Cabinet, 1917 to 1918."

CAB 38: Papers of the Committee of Imperial Defence
MICROFILM 12608
9 reels
Printed guide: See below
Microfilm of CAB 38/1-CAB 38/28.11; 1888-1914. "A collection of photocopies of the numbered series of minutes and the memoranda (A to D series: Home Defence, Miscellaneous, Colonial Defence and the Defence of India) of the Committee of Imperial Defence up to 1914, together with some unnumbered papers, all arranged in a single chronological order. The original documents can be found in CAB 2, CAB 3, CAB 4, CAB 5 and CAB 6." See List of the Papers of the Committee of Imperial Defence to 1914 (HMSO 1964), Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) Firestone CD1047 .C6 1964

Industrial Mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918 Archives Unbound From the National Archives of the UK.