French Revolution Digital Archive
Ongoing project to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution.
Actes royaux français, 1256-1794 (French Royal Acts, 1256-1794) Archives Unbound
"Approximately 16,000 pamphlets covering this important period in French history are available in this collection. One of the largest collections of its kind, it offers a wealth of information on the legislative history and governance of France, as well as other aspects of French life." From the New York Public Library.
Journal. (États généraux, France)
1508.358
7 reels
Printed guide: none
Description: avril, 1789 - septembre, 1791
[French government documents of the revolutionary period]
Journals des débats politiques et littéraires [microform]
RECAP Microfilm S00289
184 reels
Printed guide: none
Includes the parliamentary debates of the Etats généraux, Assemblée nationale constituante, Assemblée nationale legislative, Convention nationale, Corps legislatif. We have 1789-1944, but with a number of gaps. The title has changed over time:
Journal des débats
Rare Books Off-Site Storage 0850.363
(France. Corps legislatif. 1795-1814)
Documents électoraux [microform]
Microfilm 05957
4 reels
Printed guide: none
Documents of the Etats géneéraux from the Archives nationales (numbered ms. AN 1-19, 21-24, 26-38) for 1789.
Ancien regime in turmoil? [microform] : commerce, politics, and society in France, c. 1682-1793 : the Gazette manuscrite, 1775-1793, and related sources from the John Rylands University Library of Manchester
Microfilm 10295
9 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HF3555 .A524
"This project brings together a variety of original manuscript sources from the John Rylands University Library of Manchester, dominated by the Gazette Manuscrite, a manuscript newsletter documenting the period 1775-1793. The period before and during the French Revolution is brought to life in ten volumes of letters (over 1,150 in total) sent on weekly basis from Paris to Rennes." See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ancien_regime_in_turmoil/Contents.aspx.
French Revolutionary pamphlets [microform]
Microcard: located in Firestone Microforms: Cabinet 1
c. 2,000 microcards
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z2179 .N47
This collection was published in the early 1960's by Falls City Microcards and sold by Microcard Editions, Inc. The microcard collection was based primarily on the Talleyrand Collection at the New York Public Library (see "Printed guide" above) and the Melvin Collection at the University of Kansas. There are records in the Main Catalog for about 2,000 items in this collection, and a title list on the microfiche at the beginning of the microcard set.
French Revolution collections in the Department of Special Collections
"The Library has a great quantity of material on the French Revolution. The most effective access to holdings is provided by the following publication: Pamphlets, Periodicals, and Songs of the French Revolutionary Era in the Princeton University Library: A Descriptive Catalogue together with Indexes compiled by Carla Hesse and Laura Mason with the assistance of Stephen Ferguson. (New York and Princeton, 1989) [(ExB) Z2178 .P76 1989]. This short-title catalogue lists the Library's 3000+ pamphlets from the French Revolutionary period." The component collections include Bord, Weaver, Chinard, and Rogers.
Papers of August von Gneisenau, ca. 1785-1831 [microform]
1580.177.396.39
40 reels
Printed guide: none
"This collection of Gneisenau’s private and official papers consists, in general, of letters and reports sent and received, manuscript and printed copies of Cabinet orders, tables of disposition of troops of the Prussian and other armies, military and political studies and memoranda prepared by or submitted to Gneisenau, muster rolls and other records of units of the Prussian Army, and directives and circular letters issued by the Prussian Ministry of War. The papers concern such topics as the defense of Kolberg; the campaigns of 1813, 1814, and 1815; negotiations with French Government, 1814 and 1815; and the administration, organization, training, and equipment of the Prussian Army"
