Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Find Books

Philosophy Research Guide

Worldcat

 

Search WorldCat for books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials in libraries all over the world.

Even if Princeton doesn't own the item, it can be requested through Interlibrary Loan or Borrow Direct.

Items that are available here are usually marked with this icon: In your library PRINCETON UNIV.

You can use the Princeton University Links - PUL Links logo icon to quickly search Main Catalog for that item; this is essential because the item might be checked out, lost, or unavailable for some other reason.

Google Books

Searches inside millions of books. Most books show only a preview, but you can use the library to get a copy of the entire book.

Google Book Search

Search the Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog

Other Places to Search

Supplementary Classical Philosophy Databases

International Aristotle Bibliography
Extensive bibliography of scholarly works on Aristotle from 1902-present.
 

L'Annee Philologique
Main index to the scholarship of classical studies published in all languages in both books and journals.

Library of Latin Texts - Series A
Texts of Latin literature spanning the Classical, Patristic, Medieval, and Neo-Latin periods.

Loeb Classical Library
Online access to all of the in print volumes of this major series of Greek and Latin texts with facing translations.

Oxford Classical Dictionary
Continuously-updated encyclopedia to all aspects of classical antiquity. 5th ed. 2016-.

Perseus Digital Library
Texts of the major Greek and Latin authors linked to dictionaries, English translations and commentaries.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
Texts of Greek literature from Homer (8th century BCE) to the fall of Constantinople (1453 CE)

Finding Books in Firestone

Introduction to Princeton's Philosophy Collection

Most of Princeton's philosophical research materials are located in Firestone Library. Basic print reference works may be found in the General and Humanities Reference Room -- (DR) -- on the 1st floor. 

Library of Congress call numbers in Firestone--(F):

  • Philosophy (General), B (3rd floor)
  • Philosophy--Bibliography, Z7125-Z7130 (C floor)
  • Logic, BC (3rd floor)
  • Speculative philosophy (General philosophical works, metaphysics, theory of knowledge, methodology, ontology, cosmology), BD (3rd floor)
  • Aesthetics, BH (3rd floor)
  • Aesthetics--Bibliography, Z5069 (C floor)
  • Ethics, BJ (3rd floor)
  • Ethics--Bibliography, Z5873 (C floor)

Book Reviews

Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews is an excellent source for high-quality reviews of philosophy books. 

Getting Books Not Available at Princeton

Use one of the services below to order books not currently available at the Princeton Library. Also, please recommend that I purchase any useful books Princeton does not have.