SPI 402d: Strengthening Democracy and Governance in Developing Countries

The DSS data catalog includes the data holdings of Princeton University Library.

ICPSR is an international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations. It maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences and hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Used to evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs. Provides national and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections (STIs), infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition.

International economic data and forecasts on a time series basis.

UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. Themes include agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.

DataBank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.

The World Economics and Politics (WEP) Dataverse offers a collection of data amassed from nearly 100 of the most commonly used data sources related to the field of comparative and international political economy. From one central website, users can conveniently create customized datasets from a selection of country-year and dyad-year variables.

The Database of Political Institutions presents institutional and electoral results data such as measures of checks and balances, tenure and stability of the government, identification of party affiliation and ideology, and fragmentation of opposition and government parties in the legislature. The current version of the database expands its coverage to about 180 countries for 45 years, 1975-2020.

Now dated collection of links to electoral data for Latin America, grouped by country. Each link has a description of what data is available and for which years, mostly late 1990s to 2008; some links may no longer work.

Represents the largest, most careful and systematic comparative survey of attitudes and values toward politics, power, reform, democracy and citizens' political actions in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Arabic region. Based on a common module of questions contained in regional barometer surveys; for additional regional-specific questions.

Encompasses research teams from 14 East Asian states (Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam), and 5 South Asian countries (Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka). Round 1 was 2001-2003; Round 2 in 20005-2008; Round 3 2010-2012. Wave 4 2013-2016; Round 5 from 2018-2021).

Independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political and economic atmosphere in Africa. Survey microdata is typically released to the public 2 years after the first publication of a survey's results.

Multi-country social survey designed to assess citizen attitudes about public affairs, governance, and social policy in the Arab world, and to identify factors that shape these attitudes and values. Seeks public opinion on such topics as: support for democratic institutions, political interest and participation, attitudes toward terrorism and political violence, conceptions and interpretations of Islam, the relationship between religion and politics, and attitudes toward Middle East international relations.