Finding Articles
Similar to finding books, searching for articles requires you to use keywords. There are several resources at PUL that can assist you in this process, including using Articles+ on the library's home page.
You can find Articles+ by going to the library's home page, and searching for the link under the search bar, between the links for "Catalog" and "Databases":
Once you click on the link, you can either start entering your keywords to search, or you can structure your search by clicking "Options"
This leads you to the advanced search feature, where you can enter your keywords, change the "All Fields" option to be more specific (such as a subject term or a publication title), and apply a variety of filters. For example, if you only wanted to see journal articles, you could simply find the "Content Type" box and check "Article" to only see articles.
After you've developed your search, simply press search at the bottom of the screen to see your results. As an example, here's what a results screen looks like if I'm using "Philippines" as a keyword (under "All Fields") and "Democracy" as a subject term (done by changing "All Fields" on the second line to "Subject Terms":
You now have a list of potential sources that you can look through! You can also see how many results you found by looking in the top left-hand corner of the list of results (this search had over 10,000). If you find that you've found too many results, you can further refine your search using the filters on the left-hand side of the window. You just need to check what you want to use--your search will update automatically.
Suggested Databases
If you are finding too many results or simply want to do a more targeted search, consider using a database focused on your topic. Some of our recommendations are listed below:
- PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature. 1915+
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.
- Security Studies (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, think tank reports, and book chapters focused on violence and conflict focused on violence and conflict in international relations, including: cyber security, foreign policy, human security, intelligence & espionage, international law, military studies, peace & conflict studies, and political violence & terrorism.
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online This link opens in a new windowInternational abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies. 1995+
- Human Rights Documents OnlineIncludes human rights documents collected by the Human Rights Internet (HRI) in Ottawa, Canada since 1980. The documents have been published by hundreds of non-governmental human rights organizations (NGOs) throughout the world. HDRO will be updated regularly.
- Human Rights Studies OnlineProvides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects.
Geographic Specific Resources
- African Research Online This link opens in a new windowConsists of 2 parts: (1) The African Studies Companion Online contains entries covering guides and resources for African languages, Africa cartography and maps, African film, African studies journals, magazines and newsletters, media guides and news sources for Africa, the African press, African studies library collections worldwide, national archives in Africa, centers of African studies and African studies programs worldwide, awards and prizes in African studies. (2) The Africa Yearbook covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa – all related to developments in one calendar year.
- Middle East and Africa: A Reference Corporation World Area Studies Database This link opens in a new windowProvides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel & the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide. Provides access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.
- Neliti: Indonesia's Research Repository This link opens in a new window
Addresses the need for a single repository that collects together important Indonesian research that was previously scattered around the web and difficult to find.  Indexes journal articles, books, research reports, policy papers, conference papers and datasets from universities, government bodies, corporate publishers, and think tanks.