Manuscripts of the Islamic World at Princeton University Library

Visiting Special Collections - includes information on how to prepare for your visit: 

• how to obtain a Special Collections Reading Card (unaffiliated with Princeton)
• Reading Room Guidelines

Account creation - you will need to create an account to request manuscripts and other material in Special Collections

• If affiliated with Princeton University, sign in using your Princeton NetID
• If not affiliated with the University, register for an account as an independent researcher

If you have any questions about Special Collections, please send them through the AskUs Special Collections form.

To request a manuscript to look at in Special Collections, select the blue Reading Room Request button in the manuscript's catalog record:

• If you have not created an account, you will be directed to do so
• If you have created an account, the request button will prompt you to login. Do so, check that all information is correct, and submit your request

It is suggested that you request these manuscripts at least two business days in advance of your visit.

On-site access

• If you are affiliated with Princeton, you can visit Special Collections on C Floor of Firestone Library, and staff there will check you in
• If you are unaffiliated with Princeton, you will need to get a Special Collections Access Card at the Firestone Library Access Desk on the first floor
  • More information on obtaining a Special Collections Access Card can be found on the Visit Special Collections page under Preparing for your visit

If you have any questions about the Manuscripts of the Islamic World collections, you can reach out to Deborah Schlein, the Near Eastern Studies librarian.

If you would like to request a digitization of a manuscript in the Islamic World Manuscripts Collection, please make your request via the AskUs Special Collections form.

• Please first search for the manuscript you want digitized by following the How to find manuscripts instructions, and then make your request with the relevant information.

• Make sure to include the call number and catalog record url when making your request.