Skip to Main Content

URB 360 Research Guide : Finding Articles

This guide is created as a research companion for URB 360 / RES 359: Trees, Toxics, Transitions: Urban Ecological Design and the Second World

Core Architecture + Urban Studies Resources

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals: Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.  (19th C+)
  • Urban Studies Abstracts: Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline. (1973 +)
  • Index to Current Urban Documents: Access to full text PDF reports and documents generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada. Earlier documents are available on microfiche.
  • Urban Abstracts (Print): Compiled in the Research Library of the Greater London Council, covering such topics as city planning, urban transportation, urban development, and urban design. (1974+)
  • Sociologial Abstracts: Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages. (1954+)

Full List of Urban Studies-related Databses ~ Full List of Architecture-related Database

Journals ~ Newspapers

 

Search Articles+

Search Articles+ for scholarly content

Multi-Disciplinary Indexes

EBSCO Academic Search - Cross search this resource with Urban Studies Abstracts and Historical Abstracts

Wilson Omni File: Cross-searchable with Humanities Full Text, Art Full Text, Reader's Guide Full Text, etc. 

Article First: Cross-searchable with up to two others from the suite of databases; try Francis, Avery, and Bibliography of the History of Art. 

Proquest Research Library: Cross-searchable with just about every other Proquest database except for Historical Newspapers. 

JSTOR: A full-text archival resource provding full-text to hundreds of humanities-related journals.  Most of the content is at least 5 years old.