SPI 508A: Econometrics and Public Policy

Using Stata for Quantitative Analysis offers a brief but thorough introduction to analyzing data in undergraduate and graduate level research methods statistics, and data analysis courses using Stata software. Kyle C. Longest teaches the language of Stata from an intuitive perspective, allowing students with no experience in statistical software to start working with data quickly and complete a basic quantitative research project from start to finish.   The Third Edition covers the use of Stata 15 and includes more information on data management and non-linear regression techniques. Enhanced layouts make finding important commands even easier.

This timely, thoughtful book provides a clear introduction to using panel data in research. It describes the different types of panel datasets commonly used for empirical analysis, and how to use them for cross sectional, panel, and event history analysis. Longhi and Nandi then guide the reader through the data management and estimation process, including the interpretation of the results and the preparation of the final output tables. Using existing data sets and structured as hands-on exercises, each chapter engages with practical issues associated with using data in research. These include: *Data cleaning *Data preparation *Computation of descriptive statistics *Using sample weights *Choosing and implementing the right estimator *Interpreting results *Preparing final output tables Written by experienced authors this exciting textbook provides the practical tools needed to use panel data in research.

Where do I start? How do I know if I'm asking the right questions? How do I analyze the data once I have it? How do I report the results? When will I ever understand the process? If you are new to using the Stata software, and concerned about applying it to a project, help is at hand. David Pevalin and Karen Robson offer you a step by step introduction to the basics of the software, before gently helping you develop a more sophisticated understanding of Stata and its capabilities. The book will guide you through the research process offering further reading where more complex decisions need to be made and giving 'real world' examples from a wide range of disciplines and anecdotes that clarify issues for readers. The book will help with: Manipulating and organizing data Generating statistics Interpreting results Presenting outputs The Stata Survival Manual is a lifesaver for both students and professionals who are using the Stata software!

The Stata edition of the groundbreaking textbook on data analysis and statistics for the social sciences and allied fields Quantitative analysis is an increasingly essential skill for social science research, yet students in the social sciences and related areas typically receive little training in it--or if they do, they usually end up in statistics classes that offer few insights into their field. This textbook is a practical introduction to data analysis and statistics written especially for undergraduates and beginning graduate students in the social sciences and allied fields, such as business, economics, education, political science, psychology, sociology, public policy, and data science. Quantitative Social Science engages directly with empirical analysis, showing students how to analyze data using the Stata statistical software and interpret the results--it emphasizes hands-on learning, not paper-and-pencil statistics. More than fifty data sets taken directly from leading quantitative social science research illustrate how data analysis can be used to answer important questions about society and human behavior. Proven in classrooms around the world, this one-of-a-kind textbook features numerous additional data analysis exercises, and also comes with supplementary teaching materials for instructors. Written especially for students in the social sciences and allied fields, including business, economics, education, psychology, political science, sociology, public policy, and data science Provides hands-on instruction using Stata, not paper-and-pencil statistics Includes more than fifty data sets from actual research for students to test their skills on Covers data analysis concepts such as causality, measurement, and prediction, as well as probability and statistical tools Features a wealth of supplementary exercises, including additional data analysis exercises and interactive programming exercises Offers a solid foundation for further study Comes with additional course materials online, including notes, sample code, exercises and problem sets with solutions, and lecture slides

This book presents the elaboration model for the multivariate analysis of observational quantitative data. This model entails the systematic introduction of "third variables" to the analysis of a focal relationship between one independent and one dependent variable to ascertain whether an inference of causality is justified. Two complementary strategies are used: an exclusionary strategy that rules out alternative explanations such as spuriousness and redundancy with competing theories, and an inclusive strategy that connects the focal relationship to a network of other relationships, including the hypothesized causal mechanisms linking the focal independent variable to the focal dependent variable. The primary emphasis is on the translation of theory into a logical analytic strategy and the interpretation of results. The elaboration model is applied with case studies drawn from newly published research that serve as prototypes for aligning theory and the data analytic plan used to test it; these studies are drawn from a wide range of substantive topics in the social sciences, such as emotion management in the workplace, subjective age identification during the transition to adulthood, and the relationship between religious and paranormal beliefs. The second application of the elaboration model is in the form of original data analysis presented in two Analysis Journals that are integrated throughout the text and implement the full elaboration model. Using real data, not contrived examples, the text provides a step-by-step guide through the process of integrating theory with data analysis in order to arrive at meaningful answers to research questions.

One Hundred Nineteen Stata Tipsprovides concise and insightful notes about commands, features, and tricks that will help you obtain a deeper understanding of Stata. The book comprises the contributions of the Stata community that have appeared in the Stata Journalsince 2003.

Nowadays, event history analysis can draw on a well-established set of statistical tools for the description and causal analysis of event history data. The second edition of Event History Analysis with Stata provides an updated introduction to event history modeling, along with many instructive Stata examples. Using the latest Stata software, each of these practical examples develops a research question, refers to useful substantive background information, gives a short exposition of the underlying statistical concepts, describes the organization of the input data and the application of the statistical Stata procedures, and assists the reader in performing a substantive interpretation of the obtained results. Emphasising the strengths and limitations of event history model techniques in each field of application, this book demonstrates that event history models provide a useful approach with which to uncover causal relationships or to map out a system of causal relations. It demonstrates how long-term processes can be studied and how changing context information on the micro, meso, and macro levels can be integrated easily into a dynamic analysis of longitudinal data. Event History Analysis with Stata is an invaluable resource for both novice students and researchers who need an introductory textbook and experienced researchers (from sociology, economics, political science, pedagogy, psychology, or demography) who are looking for a practical handbook for their research. p out a system of causal relations. It demonstrates how long-term processes can be studied and how changing context information on the micro, meso, and macro levels can be integrated easily into a dynamic analysis of longitudinal data. Event History Analysis with Stata is an invaluable resource for both novice students and researchers who need an introductory textbook and experienced researchers (from sociology, economics, political science, pedagogy, psychology, or demography) who are looking for a practical handbook for their research.

Statistics for Social Understanding: With Stata and SPSS introduces students to the way statistics is used in the social sciences--as a tool for advancing understanding of the social world. Written in an engaging and clear voice and based on the latest research on the teaching and learning of quantitative material, the text is geared to introductory students in the social sciences, including those with little quantitative background. It covers the conceptual aspects of statistics even when the mathematical details are minimized. Informed by research on teaching and learning in statistics, the book takes a universal design approach to accommodate diverse learning styles. With an early chapter on cross-tabulation, a focus on comparisons between groups throughout, and a unique chapter on causality, the text shows students the power of statistics for answering important real-world questions. By providing thorough coverage of social science statistical topics, a balanced approach to calculation, and step-by-step directions on how to use statistical software, authors Nancy Whittier, Tina Wildhagen, and Howard J. Gold give students the ability to analyze data and explore and answer exciting questions. To accommodate changing undergraduate courses, the text incorporates examples from both Stata and SPSS in every chapter and provides practice problems of every type as well as readily available datasets for classroom use, including the General Social Survey, American National Election Study, and more. Each chapter concludes with a chapter summary, a section on using Stata, a section on using SPSS, and practice problems. Statistics for Social Understanding: With Stata and SPSS is accompanied by a learning package, written entirely by Tina Wildhagen, that is designed to enhance the experience of both instructors and students. Author-written ancillaries ensure that supplementary materials match the text in voice, language, and content.

In this second edition of An Introduction to Stata Programming, the author introduces concepts by providing the background and importance for the topic, presents common uses and examples, then concludes with larger, more applied examples referred to as "cookbook recipes." This is a great reference for anyone who wants to learn Stata programming. For those learning, the author assumes familiarity with Stata and gradually introduces more advanced programming tools. For the more advanced Stata programmer, the book introduces Stata's Mata programming language and optimization routines.