Theater Collections at Firestone Library's Special Collections Department: Theater Collections in Firestone Special Collections

Consists of a collection of Alexander's watercolor costume designs for Shakespeare's TWELFTH NIGHT and for THE BIRTHDAY OF INFANTA, a play based on a tale by Oscar Wilde, plus scrapbooks of source materials for the drawings. The scrapbooks include pictures of costumes of various nationalities from the 4th through the 20th centuries, as well as pictures of Greek sculpture and architecture, heads, children, servants, and uniforms. Some drawings are included in the scrapbooks.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

This collection contains writings by Woody Allen, filmmaker and author. It includes copies of short stories, essays, articles, and the majority of Allen's films, along with original and various drafts of his prose work, plays and screenplays, some of which are either unpublished or unproduced.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of government reports, copies of employment contracts, pamphlets, and printed matter regarding the financing of the arts in the United States and Great Britain during the 1950s and 60s. There are miscellaneous reports of the 86th through the 89th Congresses covering the establishment of national arts foundations, copyright and patent law revision, economic conditions in the performing arts, and cultural presentations of the Department of State. There are copies of contracts between the Actors' Equity Association and the League of New York Theatres, Inc., as well as pamphlets of Equity rules governing employment. The collection also contains agreements between the Metropolitan Opera Association, Inc., and the American Guild of Musical Artists, and there are miscellaneous agreements between various orchestras and unions. Pamphlets and clippings dealing with the financing of the arts in the United States and Great Britain are included in the collection.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The American Ballet Theatre is an American ballet company founded by Oliver Smith and Lucia Chase in 1940. The collection consists of programs of performances of the Ballet Theatre dance company from its first performance in 1940 until 1979.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists mainly of typescripts of melodramas written by American dramatist Charles E. Blaney.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of programs, photographs, and posters of the Berliner Ensemble state theater of the German Democratic Republic from the 1950s and 60s. Much of the material relates to Bertolt Brecht, the actor, writer, and most important member of the Berliner Ensemble. Though most of the collection is in German, there are several programs from the English National Theatre. The photographs include pictures not only of the Ensemble but also of Brecht, Vittorio De Sica, Yves Montand, Simone Signoret, and Paul Robeson.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of nine pencil drawings by Brown of dancers in various poses, some personifying emotions such as ""fear"" and ""remorse,"" while others are studies for costume groupings and figures from the ballet.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Charles Lawton Campbell (Princeton Class of 1916) was an American playwright and advertising writer. His collection contains ninety-four drafts, fragments, and fully-conceived plays, as well as poems, essays, and an autobiography covering fifty years of his life as a devotee of the theater.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of programs, broadsides, and printed matter relating to calypso music from Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, in the British West Indies.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Robert MacArthur Crawford (Princeton Class of 1925) was an American songwriter and singer. His collection consists of sheet music of songs, mainly with patriotic themes. Some of the songs are in his hand but most of them in printed form, including the U.S. Air Force's theme song, ""The Army Air Corps."" In addition, there are two packages of records (78 rpm) of his songs.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists primarily of the professional papers of prominent late 19th- and early 20th-century American theatrical stage manager and director William Seymour (1855-1933). The majority of papers include correspondence as well as numerous production-related materials, such as playscripts, promptbooks, and sheet music. Family members, particularly other well-known theater figures, such as Seymour's sister-in-law Fanny Davenport (1850-1898), are also represented in the collection through correspondence, production materials, ephemera, and newspaper clippings.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Allison Delarue Collection consists of a draft of Delarue's unpublished autobiography, letters received by Delarue from various friends, associates, and people involved in dance and the theater, and prints, photographs, and objects collected by Delarue relating to ballet and its history.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Sara Enright Papers consists of papers relating to Enright's role as theatrical agent to performers, many of whom were and are well-known, as well as to aspiring actors and actresses. The collection includes legal contracts (originals and carbons), correspondence of Enright, miscellaneous material containing commission receipts, and playbills.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Previously TC014 Robert Fagles Translations of Greek Drama.

Robert Fagles (1933-2008) was an American professor, poet, and academic, best known for his contemporary translations of ancient Greek and Latin classics, especially his acclaimed translations of the epic poems of Homer. The papers consist of professional and publishing correspondence, along with manuscript and typescript drafts, corrected proofs and galleys, notes, revisions, and other files regarding his English translations of ancient Greek and Latin texts, including Homer's Iliad and Odyssey, Virgil's Aeneid, Aeschylus's Oresteia, Sophocles's Three Theban Plays, as well as poems by Bacchylides and Pindar.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Federal Theatre Project Collection consists of bulletins, reports, speeches, catalogues, play programs, information releases, notices and reviews, clippings, protest leaflets, performance details, and other materials of the Federal Theatre Project established by the Works Progress Administration during the Depression, with Hallie Flanagan as the national director.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of five lithographs by Freeman based on theatrical themes, such as ""Dress Rehearsal: 'Of Thee I Sing'"" and ""First Nighters' Intermission.""

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Consists of posters from two distinct eras in the American film industry, the mid-1930s and the 1950s and 1960s, reflecting the artistic differences between the two periods.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Arthur Friedman is an American collector in music and theater. His collection consists of bound scrapbooks of opera programs and playbills for theater and concert performances covering eighty years of regular attendance by Friedman in New York City at the Metropolitan Opera House, Carnegie Hall, Town Hall, and various legitimate theaters.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of fifty-six 18th-century set designs, mainly by Bibiena and Platzer, although other Italian and Austrian artists are represented in this collection of Friend (Princeton Class of 1915).

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

The Film Stills Collection consists of stills and publicity portraits of actors and actresses in the American film industry.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Geographical Playbills Collection consists chiefly of playbills from the United States, but Great Britain, Canada, Bermuda, France, Germany, and Japan are also represented. Although this is a collection of playbills, there are also some letters, documents, printed matter, newspaper clippings, and miscellaneous material.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of more than 9,000 playbooks, primarily 19th-century English publications, although there are some foreign playbooks, mainly in French. Box 182 consists of 54 microfilm reels of promptbooks of Shakespeare's plays in the Playbooks Collection, which are described in Charles Harlen Shattuck's ""The Shakespeare promptbooks"" ((F) 3925.92355).

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Max Gordon (1892-1978) was an American theatrical producer. His collection contains personal correspondence with theater and film notables spanning the years 1942-1971. Also included are production materials, such as correspondence, contracts, summaries of earnings, financial sheets, and miscellaneous notes of plays Gordon produced, including Born Yesterday, The Solid Gold Cadillac, My Sister Eileen, and the film, Abe Lincoln in Illinois, as well as letters and script reports relating to Columbia Pictures.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Sam H. Harris was an American theatrical producer. His collection consists of bound typescripts of 121 plays, most of which were produced by Harris in the 1920s and 1930s, written by such well-known playwrights as George S. Kaufman, Otto Harbach, John Golden, and Noel Coward.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Contains eighteen set designs and two watercolors of costume designs for DESIRE UNDER THE ELMS and one watercolor costume design for DON GIOVANNI, submitted as projects by Hardy (Princeton Class of 1954) for the scenic design examination for the United States Scenic Artists Union at McCarter Theatre. The collection also includes six designs for the 1962 PJ & B (Princeton Junction & Back) production of ANYTHING GOES at McCarter Theatre.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Consists of twelve woodcuts of Japanese actors from the late 19th century collected by Johnson.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Consists of etchings, photographs, newspaper clippings, and other printed matter relating to exteriors and interiors of theaters worldwide, including the United States, England, Greece, France, Italy, and Germany.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

This collection consists of letters to H. Wright Johnson (Princeton Class of 1948) regarding Harley Granville-Barker, the subject of Johnson's senior thesis at Princeton. Included is Johnson's thesis, typescripts and correspondence concerning The Prevalence of Witches and Weekending, and correspondence between Johnson and George Bernard Shaw who worked closely with Granville-Barker in the English theater.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

This collection includes some playscripts stamped or addressed by theater agencies in Chicago, New York City, and Hollywood, while others were used at McCarter Theater or by the Princeton University Players. There are wartime scripts from both world wars, as well as government plays from the Federal Theater Project, the Works Progress Administration, and the Department of Agriculture's War Food Commission.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

This collection consists of two boxes of typescripts, screenplays, and scene descriptions by American playwright and screenwriter Townsend Martin (Princeton Class of 1917) as well as one box of similar material by other authors, such as Willis Goldbeck and Fannie Hurst.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Otto H. Kahn Papers consists primarily of the correspondence of Otto H. Kahn (1867-1934), international banker, philanthropist, and patron of the arts and music, but also includes printed copies of addresses, talks, opinions, and speeches that Kahn gave on a variety of political and fiscal topics, as well as press clippings, letterbooks, and some photographs.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Lulu Glaser Papers contain various artifacts, letters, photographs, and other items belonging to Lulu Glaser, a popular singer and actress during the early 1900s.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, memorabilia, and newspaper clippings of set designer John Koenig's life.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of letters by Laflin (Princeton Class of 1924) to Helen D. Hill, covering his years at the Lawrenceville School and Princeton University, and typescripts of four of his plays based on religious themes.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The collection consists of letters by American educator and playwright Louis Ellsworth Laflin (Princeton Class of 1924) to George R. Kernodle (a friend from Yale Drama School), written over thirty-three years. Also included are Laflin's notes and papers on Asian/Indian, Egyptian, and Greek drama, copies of six plays written by him, and copies of two essays on the founding and history of Princeton's Theatre Intime.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Reginald Lawrence Papers consist primarily of typescripts of plays Lawrence (Princeton Class of 1921) wrote for theater, film, and television, as well as short stories, poetry, outlines and notes for various projects, some letters, photographs, and newspaper clippings.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The McCaddon Collection of the Barnum and Bailey Circus consists of correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, and other material collected by business manager Joseph T. McCaddon prior to the 1907 merger of the circus with Ringling Bros.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

William Charles Macready (1793-1873) was an English actor and theater manager. The collection consists of selected correspondence, letters written by members of his family, and some letters, articles, and miscellaneous documents about him. A significant number of letters (45) are from Macready's friend, William Frederick Pollock.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of three scrapbooks of publicity photographs--compiled by C. A. George Newmann and collected by Carl W. Jones--of some 19th- but mainly 20th-century mentalists, magicians, ventriloquists, and illusionists.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Julia Marlowe (1866-1950), who was also known as Sarah Frances Frost, was an American actress and Shakespearean performer. Her collection consists chiefly of letters to Ida Rissland Perscheid. Also included are photographs of both Marlowe and her husband, E. H. Sothern, articles by and about them, memorabilia, and scrapbooks of newspaper clippings.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Richard Penn Smith (1799-1854) was a lawyer, editor, playwright, short story writer, and novelist of Philadelphia. His collection consists of a bound volume containing two of his plays ( My Uncle's Wedding and The Sentinels), miscellaneous manuscripts, a letter in verse to his mother, a diary, documents, engraved portraits, clippings, and miscellaneous papers of the Smith family.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of papers of the Mathews family, a 19th-century English theatrical family whose members performed and wrote for the stage and achieved fame as gifted mimics and comedians. Much of the correspondence in the collection is between the family members. Also included are manuscripts of autobiographies written by both the father and son, as well as some manuscripts of monologues, songs, roles, and music.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The James Stewart Collection contains seventeen screenplays of films in which starred American actor, Jimmy Stewart (Princeton Class of 1932).

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The bulk of the American Minstrel Show Collection consists of advertisement material promoting minstrel performances from the 1850s through the 1920s. The collection includes broadsheets, posters, newspaper clippings and programs, as well as pictures and photographs of minstrel show performers. In addition, a small portion of the collection contains sheet music and song and joke books.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of press books, scrapbooks, preview slides, magazines, and newspaper clippings related to the publicizing of individual American films as well as to the actors of the American film industry.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The collection consists mainly of playbills of American dramatic productions covering over forty-five years of play-going by T. H. Vail Motter (Princeton Class of 1922) but includes some early 20th-century playbills from the London theater as well as foreign playbills from Greece, Turkey, Belgium, China, Japan, Denmark, Holland, and England.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of programs of the cultural activities which took place in Mexico City in conjunction with the 1968 Olympics, featuring performances in dance, music, and theater by artists representing countries from all over the world.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Blanche Pauli (born Virginia C. Taney) was an American singer, actress, and vaudeville performer who worked mainly in stock companies touring the northeastern United States and Canada from the late 1890s through 1904. The collection consists of personal and family correspondence and documents, photographs, play scripts and actor's sides, sheet music, playbills, clippings, and other materials related to her professional career. Some materials also relate to Pauli's husband, Herman Utley Boardman; her performance partner, Robson Dalton; and other members of her family.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of 486 scrapbooks of playbills covering not only theater but also opera, ballet, and music.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of writings, correspondence, photographs, diaries, scrapbooks, press releases, newspapers, clippings, and miscellaneous material relating to Richard Pleasant, a founder of the Ballet Theatre.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists chiefly of typescripts of plays written by Pollock over a forty-year period but includes sheet music of songs containing his lyrics, playbills, and printed matter.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Radio Scripts Collection consists of typescripts of scripts for various radio programs such as "The Cavalcade of America" (represented by the most scripts), "The Eternal Light," "Books and Authors," "What's New in Books," "Pepper Young's Family," "The Goldbergs," and others.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The Radio Broadcasting Collection consists of typescripts of scripts for "The Cavalcade of America" and "The Bookman" as well as promotional material for the major radio networks, such as ABC, CBS, NBC, the Mutual Broadcasting System, and the Municipal Broadcasting System (WNYC). Included is material regarding the coverage of news during the latter years of World War II and copies of clippings about the Orson Welles' broadcast of "The War of the Worlds" in 1938.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Edward Le Roy Rice was an American entrepreneur, producer of minstrel shows, and dealer in theatrical memorabilia. His collection consists of correspondence, both business and personal, documents, miscellaneous material, and many newspapers and clippings regarding Rice's interests in radio, film, and theater.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of screenplays for over 500 films produced by Columbia Studios, Paramount Pictures, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Twentieth Century Fox, and others.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Contains many illustrations and etchings based on scenes from Shakespeare's plays, including a portfolio by F. O. C. Darley, as well as playbills, mainly from 19th-century performances.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

William Showles (1856-1924) was an American circus equestrian. The Showles Circus Costume Collection consists of parts of costumes--caps, shoes, jackets, tights, and an equestrian hat--worn by members of the Showles family, equestrians who traveled with small circuses from the mid-1800s until after the beginning of this century.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The L. Ashton Sly Collection of Musical Scores is a 137 volume collection of vocal scores and/or libretti for one hundred twenty-three musical comedies, comic operas, and operettas, including twenty-eight full production promptbooks. These are arranged alphabetically by title and housed in 8 record center cartons.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The material in this collection pertains not only to an individual, Richard Schechner, but also to TDR, The Drama Review, a scholarly journal concerned with the broad range of performance in society and in the arts. Schechner, a renowned scholar, director, writer, and educator, edited The Drama Review from 1962-1969 and again from 1986 to the present date.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of toy theater miscellany: a 20th-century reproduction of a toy Victorian theater by Benjamin Pollock, with many hand-colored plates of characters and scenes; figures and scenery for William Seymour's toy theater; various other toy theaters, peep shows, individual figures, wing flats, and scenery; adaptations of operas for Schreiber's Kinder-Theater; and printed material about marionettes, toy theaters, and peep shows. There are also puppets and marionettes, playbills of performances, and mounted photographs of George Pal's Puppetoons.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Consists primarily of correspondence between Broadway producer George C. Tyler and many well-known theater people including dramatists Eugene O'Neill and Booth Tarkington.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of scrapbooks of publicity photographs of American motion-picture actors and actresses, mainly of the 1930s and 1940s, collected by Mrs. A. M. Yeandle.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Vaudeville Collection consists mainly of playbills of vaudeville productions with souvenir books, printed matter, clippings, and miscellaneous material.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

This collection consists of early versions of seven works by American playwright, novelist, and storywriter, Tennessee Williams.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Clinton Wilder (Princeton Class of 1943) was an American theatrical producer. His collection consists of playbills he collected as well as typescripts and production materials of plays he produced.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Contains records concerning plays directed by Bretaigne Windust (Princeton Class of 1929), mainly for the University Players, of which he was a co-founder.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Herbert Witherspoon Scrapbooks consists of newspaper clippings and programs relating to the musical career of Witherspoon, a Metropolitan Opera basso and performer of songs in recital.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Mansel V. Boyle (1877-1945) was a popular vaudeville performer best known by the stage name Vardaman. The collection consists of papers of Vardaman, including personal and business correspondence, appointment books, route sheets, contracts, scripts, photographic materials, clippings, and playbills, as well as photographs and printed materials documenting other vaudeville, minstrel, and burlesque performers active from the 1880s through the 1920s.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Theater Photographs Collection contains still photographs of American actors and actresses as well as scenes from plays and includes clippings and printed matter.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of playbills of New York City theaters from the late 19th century to the present day.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of original drawings by Bendiner of performers in the theater, on the screen, and on the concert and operatic stages.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Posters in this collection are cataloged individually and will need to be requested from their respective catalog records.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Consists of oversize American theater posters from the early 1900s to the present time.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Consists of personal papers of Alan S. Downer, Princeton professor of English (1946-1970), including correspondence, articles, lecture notes, and photographs, as well as material relating to various professional organizations to which he belonged, much of it associated with American theater.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of oversize photographs and pictures of American actors and actresses in theater and dance.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Consists of an assembled collection of correspondence of playwrights, authors, actors and actresses, and theater managers, and other manuscript materials relating to American and English theater from the 1720s through the 1970s.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of correspondence between Italian playwright Luigi Pirandello and the Italian actress Marta Abba, who spent much of her life interpreting his plays. Pirandello's forty-three plays, as well as other literary works, are discussed in the correspondence, which reveals the special "maestro-disciple" relationship shared by the couple.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

The Warner Bros. Screenplays consists of a large collection of scripts for films produced by the Warner Bros. studio.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of 113 photographs of American dramatist Eugene O'Neill and his wife, Carlotta, taken by American writer and photographer Carl Van Vechten.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

This collection consists of 175 letters (1952-1956, undated) by the American stage and screen actress Anne Baxter to her publicist and friend Russell Birdwell.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Previously TC103 Theatrical Autograph Albums.

Consists of a collection of letters and autographs of over 120 English, American, and a few European actors, actresses, playwrights, theatrical managers, directors, critics, and others connected with the theater from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of the papers of songwriter, playwright, and poet Clare Beecher Kummer. Included are manuscript plays, musical compositions, songs, verse, and correspondence.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Mavis Kalmar was an English stage actress. Her collection consists of correspondence (1917-1946), two diaries (undated), two sketchbooks, and photographs.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of files (clippings, programs, books, caricatures, etc.) on people involved in theater, from the mid-19th century through the late 1980s, including actors, dramatists, directors, scholars, and designers.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The Dance Subject Files consist of dance-related subject files from early 20th century through 1980s. Among the material are clippings, photos, programs, promotional materials, and dance school brochures.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of papers of Fanny Davenport, a popular nineteenth-century American actress and theater manager.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

A collection of 144 glass slides (in five boxes) made by and/or collected by Black.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

The Performing Arts Serials Collection consists of serial printed material concerning the performing arts, including circus, dance, film, opera, radio, speech, television, theater, and vaudeville. For the most part, publications are represented by a sample or two issues.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of miscellaneous screenplays and related materials, such as continuity, superimposed versions (i.e. script translations), release dialogue scripts, and revisions/drafts. There are also a few information packets--these include interviews with and/or biographies of stars, synopses, and various and sundry other materials meant for release.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of miscellaneous anonymous playscripts, arranged alphabetically by title, that are largely undated but appear to range from the late 19th century to the mid-20th century (1942).

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

This collection contains broadside playbills from the United States, England, and Europe.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The Playbills Printed on Satin collection comprises 46 playbills printed on satin fabric.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

This collection comprises materials and photographs from Mr. Strunk, who was hired as a literary consultant for MGM's 1936 production of ""Romeo and Juliet"", produced by Irving G. Thalberg, directed by George Cukor, and arranged for the screen by Talbot Jennings.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Includes typescript memoirs of Lucile Watson's early theatrical career, through her entry into Hollywood motion pictures.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of playbills, programs, and some other printed material relating to the works of Gilbert and Sullivan.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The Miscellaneous Circus Collection consists of subject files on all aspects of the circus: acts, organizations, and specific performers and circuses. Included are photographs, programs and other ephemera, and clippings.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of 59 scrapbooks of playbills, obituaries, and newspaper clippings covering plays, actors and actresses, and playwrights. One group of scrapbooks are labeled "Garvie-Renton Scrapbooks," and contain clippings from Hartford, Conn. newspapers on theatre and theatrical obituaries, by Billy S. Garvie (also appears as Billie S. Garvie).

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Files include correspondence about the founding of Princeton University Libray's William Seymour Theatre Collection, the gala dinner opening night, efforts to enlarge the collection in the 1940s to 1960s, and descriptive writings about the collection by the various curators.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Previously Collection of Charles Dickens Playbills and Other Materials

Includes original playbills, programs, advertisements, and other pieces, some with annotations in a contemporary hand. About 300 pieces, mostly single or double sheets, from 1842 to 1981.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division

The Miscellaneous Dance Files Collection contains printed programs, souvenir programs, clippings, and reviews of various ballet companies and choreographers.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

19 boxes of slides, together with 3 boxes of ringbound 3x5 card sets, plus six other related items (stored in box 19). Many sets are productions of Shakespeare. The slides are 3.5 x 4 inches/10 x 8.5 cm.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.

Contains black and white photographic prints, with separate text, mounted in folders.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Previously Selected Papers of Edward Anthony.

Edward Anthony was a noted writer and publisher in the twentieth century, known primarily for his light verse. His papers include several manuscripts, including an autobiography co-authored with Clyde Beatty about circus animal training and a collection of poems. A few miscellaneous papers, such as letters and a date book from 1928 complete the collection.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of approximately 90 photographs of Royal Danish Ballet performances available from dance publicist Isadora Bennett, together with her detailed notes and numeration for each picture.

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Contains original manuscripts and multiple drafts for American screenwriter Ernest Lehman's works "North by Northwest" and "Somebody Up There Likes Me."

This collection is a part of the Manuscripts Division.

Consists of 12 typescript and bound copies of the play, most with mss. notes, stage directions, and cast members. Each script contains about 113 leaves of text.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Previously Theatre in Focus.

Box 1 consists of Henry Irving at the Lyceum, Astley's Amphitheatre, Fairbooths and Fit-ups, Dion Boucicault, and Folk Theatre and Dramatic Entertainments in Russia.

Box 2 consists of The Bancrofts at the Prince of Wales's Theatre, Terence Gray and the Cambridge Festival Theatre, Wilton's Music Hall, Théâtre des variétés, and The London Coliseum.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Souvenir books, programs, and advertising materials on various ballet companies.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists of theater programs, newspaper clippings, and articles on English actor Edmund Kean, as well as portraits of Kean in various dramatic roles.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Joseph Jefferson (1829-1905) was an American actor and author. His collection consists of biographical newspaper clippings, 2 copies of his Autobiography, theatrical criticism and approbation, and clippings on family matters.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The Jimmy Stewart Collection consists of newspaper and magazine clippings about the life and career of American actor, James Stewart (Princeton Class of 1932). Also included in the collection are film stills and other photographs.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The Sarah Bernhardt Collection consists of newspaper and magazine clippings, theater programs and playbills, photographs, and other materials on French actress Sarah Bernhardt.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The Marie Bashkirtseff Collection consists of newspaper and book reviews about her published journal and later biographies about her; one engraved portrait; one engraved illustration.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Previously Scandinavian playbills.

Contains clippings, photographs, and issues of periodicals relating to the Scandinavian theater. Includes Danish, Norwegian, and Swedish materials.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Consists primarily of newspaper clippings and ephemera representing twentieth-century Irish theater. These items come from gift sources other than that of Milberg Irish Theater, TC145.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Box 1: Stoddard lectures, Jenny Lind, Edwin Booth, Edmund Kean, John Gay, Misc. actors, Theatrical guides: 1860-1880 and 1880-1899; Box 2: Philadelphia and Pennsylvania, New York (State), New Jersey, Chicago, Misc. U.S. cities, England, Misc. countries; Box 3: New York City; Box 4: Boston; Box 5: John Wilkes Booth; Box 6: Philadelphia Public Ledger, July 1876: Centennial Celebration.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Previously TC139 Television broadcasting in America.

Grouped in folders by broadcasting company.
Box 1: Columbia Broadcasting System, inc. (CBS), Du Pont's Cavalcade of America, Radio & Television Yearbooks;
Box 2: National Broadcasting Company (NBC);
Box 3: Misc. television.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Previously TC140 Collection of American theater materials from the 20th century.

Contains topical files on various aspects of theater in the United States; and source materials including playbills, programs, souvenir books, and programs, arranged geographically. Divided into two series.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Previously TC141 Theater history: dealers’ catalogs.

Consists of 20th-century dealers' catalogs advertising books on theater history, drama history, and playscripts.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Previously TC142 Collection of playscripts by William C. and Cecil B. De Mille.

Willam Churchill De Mille (1878-1955) was an American playwright, producer, and lecturer. The William C. and Cecil B. De Mille Collection consists of playscripts by William, and some co-authored by his younger brother Cecil.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

The Saint Louis Municipal Opera Collection consists of programs, souvenir books, press releases, publicity photographs, and miscellaneous items.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Previously TC144 Katharine Cornell Costume.

Consists of dark green dress with black trim, and corset, worn by Katharine Cornell for the theater production of "The dark is light enough." Label in dress: "Helene Pons Studio, New York, N.Y." with "Miss Cornell" written in.

This collection is a part of the Rare Books Division.

Materials in this collection are catalogged individually and will need to be requested from their catalog records.

This collection is a part of the Graphic Arts Division.