Theater Collections at Firestone Library's Special Collections Department: Collections Transferred from Firestone

Previously TC017 Charles Fehon Set Designs.

Consists primarily of original artwork created by Charles E. Fehon, Princeton Class of 1950, during the process of designing sets and costumes for Princeton theater groups including Theatre Intime, University Players, and the Triangle Club.

The collection history notes: The materials in this collection were previously part of the Theater Collections maintained in Firestone Library. Eight scketches in Box 3 were previously cataloged as TC017, Charles Fehon set designs, 1949-1954. That collection was transferred to Mudd Manuscript Library as accession number AR.2011.017 in April 2011.

This collection is held in the Princeton University Archives.

The following collections have been merged into AC122: TC034 Triangle Club Papers of Jay Kerr, TC076 Triangle Club Archives, and TC077 Triangle Club Cassette Collection.

The Triangle Club Records consists of records of the Club and its predecessor, the Princeton College Drama Association, for productions performed by these organizations from 1883 to the present. Materials include correspondence, playbills, scripts, scores, newspaper clippings, posters, scrapbooks, and photographs as well as audio-visual recordings.

Subseries 7B, Jay Kerr Papers consists of materials that were formerly cataloged as TC034, Triangle Club papers of Jay Kerr. Consists of correspondence, original music, itineraries of tours, newspaper clippings, and reviews of four productions of the Princeton Triangle Club between 1963 and 1966, as well as papers relating to Kerr's year (1966-1967) as president of the club. Included are correspondence between Kerr (Princeton Class of 1967) and Joshua Logan, himself an alumnus of the Club, and letters by Sheldon Harnick, Stephen Sondheim, and Frank Loesser. There are also two original works composed by Kerr, a musical setting for a Gerald Manley Hopkins poem and a children's operetta.

This collection is held in the Princeton University Archives.

The following collections have been merged into AC131: TC039 McCarter Theatre Papers of Arthur W. Lithgow, and TC041 Mccarter Theatre Archives.

The Arthur Lithgow Files include documents maintained by the former Artistic and Executive Director of the McCarter Theatre Company. Documents include annotated production scripts and correspondence with actors, playwrights, and McCarter employees discussing various aspects of production.

This collection is held in the Princeton University Archives.

Previously TC043 James Magnuson Plays.

James Magnuson is a playwright, writer, and the 1970-71 recipient of Princeton's Hodder Fellowship. The collection consists of drafts of five short plays by James Magnuson, as well as clippings, correspondence, and notes.

This collection is held in the Princeton University Archives.

Previously TC048 Princeton Performances of Medieval Lithurgical Drama.

There are several well-known Princeton theatrical groups, but students and faculty have also organized many smaller groups over the decades, both short-term and long-lived. The collection consists of posters, programs, photographs, news clippings, and a very small amount of design and planning materials gathered about campus theatrical groups that are not already represented in dedicated archival collections.

See Series 1: Medieval Liturgical Drama at Princeton Records

This collection is held in the Princeton University Archives.

Previously TC058 Princeton Mime Theatrical Records.

Founded in 1974 by a philosophy student trained in mime and dance, the Princeton Mime Company has developed into a touring and teaching mime troupe. Consists of programs, flyers, reviews (largely from The Daily Princetonian), photographs, rehearsal schedules, and correspondence of the Princeton Mime Company.

This collection is held in the Princeton University Archives.

Previously TC063 Charles H. Schultz Collection.

Charles H. Schultz is a member of the Princeton Class of 1954. The collection consists of scripts, sides, photographs, reviews, programs, clippings, and miscellaneous material relating to the University Players, Theatre Intime, and the Triangle Club of Princeton during the years Schultz was a participant in these groups.

This collection is held in the Princeton University Archives.

Consists of sheet music of songs from American musical shows and operettas--mainly from the early 1900s--by artists such as Irving Berlin, Emmerich Kalman, Franz Lehar, the Gershwins, Rudolf Friml, Sigmund Romberg, Rodgers and Hart, and others.

This collection is held by the Mendel Music Library.

Consists of hundreds of piano/vocal scores of American stage and film musicals and also includes foreign operettas and operas.

This collection is held by the Mendel Music Library.

Contains French musical scores of orchestral parts for operas and ballets written by Wagner, Delibes, Saint-Saens, Berlioz, Debussy, Offenbach, Puccini, Massenet, and others, collected by Switten. There are also transcriptions, many of them by H. Mouton, for small orchestras, ballet suites, orchestral suites, trios, quartets, and fantasies.

This collection is held by the Mendel Music Library.

Consists of sheet music of popular songs and songs from musical comedies written by Irving Berlin, Vincent Youmans, the Gershwins, Rodgers and Hart, Cole Porter, and many others, collected by Tilden (Princeton Class of 1922).

This collection is held by the Mendel Music Library.

This collection is comprised of 143 boxes containing the working theater orchestra library assembled by Fred D. Valva (1878-1933) of Worcester, Massachusetts. Valva was described at the time of his death as the ""premier orchestra leader in Worcester on the Poli circuit"" having spent his thirty-year-long professional life as conductor for the Plaza, Palace, and Elm Street theaters. The Valva Collection includes both orchestral parts and the conductor's scores for several thousand popular songs and special musical effects used in vaudeville and movie houses from the turn of the century to the end of the silent picture [film] era in the late 'twenties. This collection was a gift of the Worcester Public Library.

This collection is held by the Mendel Music Library.

Contains sheet music of popular songs as well as songs from musical comedies, but also includes songbooks of older, more traditional songs--all collected by Macomb.

This collection is held by the Mendel Music Library.

Consists of sheet music of popular songs and songs from musical comedies, collected by White.

This collection is held by the Mendel Music Library.

Consists of sheet music of popular songs and songs from musical comedies, collected by various members of the Mudge family.

This collection is held by the Mendel Music Library.

Consists of sheet music of American patriotic and love songs written at the time of World War I.

This collection is held by the Mendel Music Library.

Previously TC101 University Players Collection.

The collection consists mainly of playbills, photographs, and clippings of press announcements and reviews of the University Players, a youthful group of Princetonians aspiring toward careers in the performing arts. Not entirely comprised of Princeton alumni and undergraduates, however, the organization provided experience and training for many hopefuls who have in fact succeeded in that goal. Taking its name from an earlier group with the same ambitions and who also made great contributions to American theatre and film, it provided the Princeton community with some exciting and meritorious summer theatre for more than a decade.

This collection is held in the Princeton University Archives.