Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theater Collections at Firestone Library's Special Collections Department: Home

A guide to the collections of Special Collections Firestone's former Theater Division

Theater Collections at Firestone Library's Special Collections Department

Red satin playbill will gold text for Alice Oates at the Bush Street Theater in San Francisco, California on December 4, 1887

Bush Street Theatre playbill from December 4, 1878.

From TC114 Playbills Printed on Satin, Box 1.

 

Introduction

Special Collections’ Theater Division, housed in Special Collections Firestone, was established in 1966 and dissolved in 2000, whereupon its holdings were distributed primarily across other Special Collections units: rare books, manuscripts, graphic arts, and University archives. 

This LibGuide provides the descriptions, current locations, and any updates to the collection names or codes of all the collections formerly held in the Theater Division. It is divided into two categories: collections held in Special Collections Firestone and collections transferred to two other locations. All materials are described online and are available for research in the Library’s catalog or the finding aid portal.

In addition to these collections, Special Collections Firestone also houses the Rare Books Theater Collection (Ex THX.) These bound and published volumes can also be found in our catalog.

For any questions about using the materials described in this LibGuide, please contact Special Collections Public Services via our Ask Us! form.