Skip to main content

Art 478: Vikings

Research Guide for students in Art 478.

Search Articles+

Before diving into a specialized subject database, you might want to try a broad interdisciplinary database, like Articles+. Limit a broad search to something more specific by choosing among the facets listed on the left-hand side. The SUBJECT TERMS section allows you to select specific subjects you wish to include and exclude in a search.

Newspapers

Information about accessing newspapers at Princeton may be found in this guide .

Database Searching tips

. the Advanced Search will usually give you more options

2. Phrase searching:  can put a phrase in quotes

3. Boolean operators: AND, OR, NOT - connects two or more words to narrow or broaden a search, or to help clarify terms with multiple meanings (can be combined with phrase searching) [sometimes you have to type these in--in CAPS--and sometimes you will see them listed to connect subject terms (select AND, OR or NOT)]

4. Most databases we subscribe to that combine both scholarly and more popular sources allow one to limit to only scholarly, or peer-reviewed, or both types of resources

5. Most databases allow one to save results in a folder for future access, or to easily e-mail citations and/or full-text (e.g. a PDF) to oneself to consult later on. Just make sure to empty out the folder before leaving a database, or you will lose your saved items (unless you have created an account and logged in).

6. One can almost always limit by date and language (of the source)

7. Many databases includes abstracts or summaries of the books or journal articles so as to provide enough information, often, to know if it's worth it to read an item in its entirety online or go seek out in the library

8. Depending on the database, a range of material can be included: advertisements, book reviews, feature articles, book reviews, images, newspaper articles, dissertations, etc.

9. You may have to brainstorm a bit up front to determine all the possible ways your subject or key terms could be formulated both commonly and by the particular database/search engine you are using