Research Guides: Art 478: Vikings: Searching Tips and Gathering Sources

Reference Books

Encyclopedias, handbooks and companions are great ways to get background information, understand the terms used to describe some topics, and identify sources related to a particular topic. In addition to the online resources listed below, one can also do a Subject (browse) search in the library catalog: e.g. RENAISSANCE ENCYCLOPEDIAS, identifying any topic you can think of. ONLINE options can be filtered out, keeping in mind that titles available in the HathiTrust ETAS won't be designated as ONLINE.

Cambridge Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text access to the complete Cambridge Companions to literature, philosophy, religion, and classics.
Historical Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries with timelines covering nations of the world, ancient civilizations, intelligence & security, literature, peoples & cultures, philosophy, pop culture (art, music, cinema), religion, sports, United States politics, and wars & conflicts,
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and other reference works in the humanities and social sciences, published by Oxford University Press.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Provides overview of classic and current research and future trends in the social sciences and humanities, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable versions of several hundred paperbacks published by Oxford University Press. Each volume treats a large subject, is written by a well-known scholar (several are Princeton faculty), and includes further readings. These works provide more context on a topic than does an encyclopedia article.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
See or limit results to Reference Works, in particular. Multi-disciplinary.

Online Encyclopedias available at Princeton
We have many specialized encyclopedias covering just about every field. This links to one list (multiple pages), but is not exhaustive.
Wikipedia
While it is not advisable to use this as a source in an academic paper, it can sometimes LEAD you to other great sources, especially on contemporary topics.

Oxford Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Detailed guides to a wide variety of disciplines.
Oxford Bibliographies: Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window
Detailed guide to medieval studies.

Subject terms for This Course

Examples for this particular course (not exhaustive):
[NOTE: the dashes indicate the subdivisions or sub-headings--for medium, geography, time period, etc.)--but it’s not necessary to type them when searching by subject, and the catalog allows one to browse additional results using any portion of the subject term.]

VIKING ANTIQUITIES

VIKINGS

SCANDINAVIA

MATERIAL CULTURE