I am available to help you!
Email me to make an appointment and briefly describe your topic and any research you have already done.
Online & Print Materials:
The Princeton University Library system is an incredible research institution and all collections are for you to use. In addition to the online content available, explore PUL's vast collection of print materials in UES, Firestone, and Marquand. Also keep in mind that the Engineering Library has an entire collection devoted to architectural and structural engineering.
About Indexes and Databases:
Princeton subscribes to thousands of article indexes and research databases that you can use to identify both primary sources and secondary literature on your topic. Good starting places are the Avery Index and Urban Studies Abstracts. For help identifying other databases related to your topic, ask me. To browse all indexes and databases supporting some facet of architecture and architecture history, see this page.
About Student Hold Shelves:
The Architecture Library reserves hold shelves for students. A hold shelf allows you to charge Architecture Library materials to a designated shelf for the duration of the academic year. Others will be able to use these materials but any materials pulled from your shelf will always be returned to your shelf and not the normal place in the library stacks. For more information about registering for a hold shelf, click here. The Marquand Library also has hold shelves for student use. Click here for more information.
About Recalls, Borrow Direct, ILL, and Purchase Requests
Materials in the Architecture Library circulate for a 28-day period and may be recalled (recalled items must be returned within ten days of the request). If Princeton owns a book but it is checked out, consider ordering a copy via Borrow Direct. If you cannot find the title in Borrow Direct, place an Interlibrary Loan request. If you would like the Architecture Library to purchase a title, let me know by filling out this form.
Keep in Mind....
- Borrowing books from other libraries can take several weeks. Plan ahead!
- Most libraries will not lend original documents, rare books, or books that are fragile or damaged.
