Skip to Main Content

Amp Up Your Archives!

If you’re interested in preserving your personal Princeton experience, managing your organization’s records, contributing to the university archives, and/or want to learn more about the archival and library professions, then Amp Up! is for you!

Current Student Organization Donations

Student organization records commonly transferred to the University Archives include:

  • Governing documents: constitutions, charters, mission and vision statements, and by-laws
  • Annual reports
  • Committee reports and minutes
  • Meeting minutes
  • Correspondence and memoranda (incoming and outgoing)
  • Subject files concerning projects, initiatives, activities, and functions     
  • Membership lists
  • Organizational histories
  • Publications and publicity materials: newsletters, brochures, event programs and booklets
  • Photographs, audio and visual recordings
  • Websites

The University Archives accepts the above records in paper or digital format.

If you have a question about donations, please contact Valencia L. Johnson at vj2@princeton.edu.

Items that should not be transferred to the University Archives include:

  • Blank forms,
  • Detailed financial records, canceled transactions, canceled checks, bank statements, and receipts,
  • Plaques and trophies,
  • Records you want closed forever,
  • Duplicated material (though we are interested in original and annotated copies of material).

Current students and organizations, please follow this link to donate.

As the creators of a collection, you are able to restrict access for a certain period of time. Records created by student organizations may be restricted at the discretion of the organization in consultation with the Archivist for Student Life or the University Archivist for an approved limited period to protect personal information or privacy. The restriction will be recorded in the finding aid and cannot be applied retroactively.

Thank you for donating to the University Archives! 

Class Records and Alumni Donations

We welcome records of abiding historical value that relate to Princeton University's past. The Archives would be much poorer if not for the generosity of alumni and their respective families. We are especially interested in records that might shed light on student life, including diaries, correspondence home, scrapbooks, examination questions, course syllabi and notes, and photographs.

There are some items that we do not need: Nassau Heralds, Bric-a-Bracs, and reunion books published before 1950, most mass-published books pertaining to Princeton, Nassau Hall bicentennial (1956) and other Princeton-related stamps, and reunion clothing. If you are at all uncertain about whether or not to donate something, feel free to email us. 
 

Class Records materials commonly transferred to the University Archives summarize class activities and include:

High level activities for the class that include:

  • Reunions books
    • Please select one representative from the Class to submit 2 copies to the archives
  • Class correspondence 
    • We welcome any correspondence to the entire class including: newsletters, annual reports, notes, and postcards.
  • Selected Class photographs
    • The archives is looking for photographs of large group gatherings from events. These photos should be able to be shared with the general public in accordance with Mudd Library’s equal and open access policy. 
  • Documentation about special Class projects
    • Classes sometimes take on special projects that highlight important historical and significant changes that took place during their time at Princeton. The archives accept documentation used to facilitate these endeavors as well as the final project. 
  • Non-password protected websites
    • Website will be captured annually

The University Archives accepts the above records in paper or digital format.

If you have a question about donations, please contact Valencia L. Johnson at vj2@princeton.edu.

Items that should not be transferred to the University Archives include:

  • Records you want closed forever,
  • Blank forms,
  • Career files,
  • Correspondence between classmates after graduation,
  • Financial records; canceled transactions, canceled checks, bank statements, and receipts,
  • Personal journals written after graduation, 
  • Plaques and trophies,
  • Reunion clothing.

Thank you for donating to the University Archives! Please use the Ask Us Form to contact the University Archives to notify us about potential donations.