Mayan Languages
Princeton has sizable collections in several Mayan languages and custom search links are listed below:
- Mayan languages (umbrella search)
- K’iche’ (Quiché)
- Kaqchikel (Cakchiquel)
- Mapuche
- Zapotec
Please contact us for a conversation to better understand our collections.
Maya
Additional resources can be found by searching for the subject "Maya language" in the PUL catalog.
A Dictionary of the Maya Language by ISBN: 1607818132Publication Date: 1998-01-01This book includes more than twenty-thousand entries in trilingual format with extensive Spanish-Itzaj Maya and English Itzaj indexes, as well as a grammatical sketch describing morphological and syntactic processes of Itzaj Maya words. Three appendixes present flora and fauna taxonomy and an overview of body parts.
- Spoken Yucatec Maya Online TextbookA set of Mayan language textbooks made available online by University of Chicago Professor John Lucy in partnership with the University of Chicago Library and Social Sciences Division.
Mapudungun
Mapudungun is the language of the Mapuche nation. Additional resources can be found by searching for the subject "Mapuche language" in the PUL catalog.
Princeton Resources
A Grammar of Mapuche by ISBN: 9783110195583Publication Date: 2008-01-16This book offers a comprehensive and detailed description of the Mapuche language. It contains a grammar (phonology, morphology and syntax), a collection of texts (stories, conversations and songs) with morphological analyses and free translations, and a Mapuche-English dictionary with a large number of derivations and examples. The grammar is preceded by a socio-historical sketch of the Mapuche people and a brief discussion of previous studies of the Mapuche language. The material for the description was collected by the author with the help of five Mapuche speakers with attention to the dialectal differences between them.- Diccionario araucano: mapuche-español, español-mapuche byCall Number: PM5466 .A938 1991Publication Date: 1991This dictionary is in Mapudungun and Spanish
- Diccionario de la lengua MapucheThis dictionary is in Mapudungun and Spanish
External Resources
- Comunidad de Historia MapucheOnline resources to learn Mapudungun
- KimeltuweOnline resources to learn Mapudungun
- Memoria ChilenaBiblioteca Nacional de Chile website created by Mapuche historians' collective with articles and papers on Mapuche history.
Zapotec
Additional resources can be found by searching for the subject "Zapotec language" in the PUL catalog.
Vocabulario mínimo del zapoteco de Teotitlán del Valle : material para el estudio y la enseñanza-aprendizaje de esta lengua by ISBN: 9786073032711Publication Date: 2020This book is in Zapotec and Spanish
- Zapotec Talking DictionariesHaverford College Professor Brook Lillehaugen, along with fellow researchers, has developed an internet-based lexicon that documents the pronunciations of Zapotec speakers across diverse dialects.