Wide variety of materials relating to American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico, from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection. Covers pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
Integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Presents the entire spectrum of native peoples' experiences from their own point of view.
Collects items related to the Indian boarding schools. Contains historical documents found in historical societies across the United States, libraries, state archives, the National Archive and Record Administration (NARA), universities, colleges, schools, personally held items, and other resources.
Full-text ethnography materials of the world's cultures. At present, eHRAF indexes only 360 cultures, so for comprehensive treatment of world cultures use the HRAF microfiche collection in Microform Services (Microfiche 285). The collection of ethnography was produced on microfiche from 1950 to 1993. Two guides to the microfiche, Outline of World Cultures and Outline of Cultural Materials are available in Microforms Services (FilmB) GN345.3 .M87 1983.
Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.
Official correspondence and documents of each territory of the United States in its pre-statehood years. Includes Native American negotiations and treaties, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.
A vivid description of the people, events, and issues that forever changed the lives of Native Americans during the 1960s and 1970s--such as the occupation of Alcatraz, fishing-rights conflicts, and individuals such as Clyde Warrior. Rising out of more than a century of poverty and pervasive repression, stoked by the example of the movement against the Vietnam War and the upheaval among black and Chicano civil-rights activists, the American Indian Movement shifted the debate over "the Indian problem" to a new level. Many Native peoples also took a stand for fishing rights, land rights, and formed resistance to coal and uranium mining on tribal land. This work tells the story of that movement, and provides the first encyclopedic treatment of this subject. Providing a vital documentation of a controversial and often surprising period in American Indian history, Bruce E. Johansen, an accomplished scholar and authority on Native American history, provides more than descriptions of historic events and careful analysis; he also frames what occurred in the American Indian Movement personally and anecdotally, drawing from individual stories to illustrate larger trends--and to ensure that the material is appealing to high school students, university-level readers, and general readers alike. Compares American Indian content to Black, Latino, and Asian civil-rights movements at the same historical era Relates the activities of the American Indian Movement to those of many regional groups that were active at the same time Draws connections between activities in the 1960s and 1970s to outcomes today, such as a ban on Navajo uranium mining, development of reservation infrastructure, and reclamation of many Native languages
Intended to help students explore ethnic identity--one of the most important issues of the 21st century--this concise, one-stop reference presents rigorously researched content on the national groups and ethnicities of North America, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean. Combining up-to-date information with extensive historical and cultural background, the encyclopedia covers approximately 150 groups arranged alphabetically. Each engaging entry offers a short introduction detailing names, population estimates, language, and religion. This is followed by a history of the group through the turn of the 19th century, with background on societal organization and culture and expanded information on language and religious beliefs. The last section of each entry discusses the group in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries, including information on its present situation. Readers will also learn about demographic trends and major population centers, parallels with other groups, typical ways of life, and relations with neighbors. Major events and notable challenges are documented, as are key figures who played a significant political or cultural role in the group's history. Each entry also provides a list for further reading and research.
More than 100,000 digitized images from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer collection, one of the world's premiere sources of primary documents on American Indians. Topics covered include Native American archaeology, ethnology, art, and language; the history of the contact between Europeans and native peoples; voyages, travels, and accounts of early America; the development of cartography of the Western Hemisphere; and the history of the aboriginal peoples under the jurisdiction of the U.S. in the Philippine Islands and Hawaii.