Skip to main content

Resources for Rare Books: An Annotated Bibliography: Provenance

Resources Specific to Princeton University Library

See also: Ownership Marks of Selected Libraries and Collections Absorbed by the Princeton University Library

  • Notabilia An in-progress registry of provenance, bindings, annotations, and other evidence for book history from the rare book collections at Princeton

Databases

  • Consortium of Europeand Research Libraries Provenance Databases Includes CERL Thesaurus, Needham's Index Possessorum Incunabulorum, Material Evidence in Incunabula, list of online provenance resources by georgraphical location, and for bibliographic Sherlocks, CERL's Can You Help? identifying provenance evidence website. CERL Provenance is the primary online reseource.
  • English Book Owners in the Seventeenth Century: A Work in Progress Listing. An ongoing list of seventeenth-century English book owners compiled by David Pearson and hosted by the Bibliographical Society of America. Entries include citations to articles, sale catalogues, biographical references, and images of inscriptions, bookplates, and other marks of ownership. 
  • British Armorial Bindings Created by the Bibliograhical Society in conjuction with the University of Toronto, this catalogue attempts to record all known British armorial bookbinding stamps.  The database currently reproduces over 3,300 stamps used between the sixteenth and twentieth centuries.
  • Provenance and Binding Index An attempt to list the most substantial donors and more interesting names associated with volumes in the library of St. John's College, Cambridge University. Includes browsing indexes by chronology, profession, physical type of provenance, and binding materials.  Also includes a set of woodcuts and engravings from the Culture Class Collection.
  • Penn Provenance Project A Flickr database of unidentified, partially identified, and identified bookplates and labels, inscriptions, stamps, and bindings from the University of Pennsylvania Special Collections.
  • Catál­ogo Colec­tivo de Mar­cas de Fuego

Print Resources

Guides: