Research Guides: Resources for Rare Books: An Annotated Bibliography: Princeton University Library Specific

Special Collections Guides & Publications

Guide to Topics This guide is an Oxford Companion style reference work presenting capsule summaries regarding holdings relevant to more than 300 topics. The primary resource for brief introductions to particular fields and subjects within the department's print holdings.
Princeton University Library Chronicle An interdisciplinary journal whose mission is to publish articles of scholarly importance and general interest based on research in the collections of the Princeton University Libraries. The Chronicle is published three times a year (Autumn, Winter, Spring) under the sponsorship of the Friends of the Princeton University Library. Volumes 1-60 available online. The first resource when searching for the history of a collection or an item within the deparment's holdings.

Davies Project at Princeton University Documents and Pictures relating to the history of the Princeton University Library.

Main Catalog The most up-to-date catalog of printed books in the Department of Special Collections. Also available through SearchIt@PUL.
Supplementary Catalog The Supplementary Catalog contains scanned cards for items cataloged before 1980. Records are arranged alphabetically with authors, titles, and subjects interfiled. This catalog has been largely replaced by the online Main Catalog.
Princeton University Classed List. Princeton, N.J.: The University Library, 1920. Six volumes. Volume Six: Special Collections. All six volumes are available online via Hathi Trust.
Princeton University Alphabetical Finding List. Princeton, N.J.: The University Library, 1921. Five Volumes. Available online via Hathi Trust.
Subject-Catalogue of the Library of the College of New Jersey at Princeton. New York: [The C.M. Green Printing Co.] 1884. Available online via Hathi Trust.
A Catalogue of Books in the Library of the College of New Jersey. Published by Order of the Trustees at Woodbridge, New Jersey, by James Parker, 1760. Available online via Hathi Trust.

Princeton University Library Chronicle An interdisciplinary journal whose mission is to publish articles of scholarly importance and general interest based on research in the collections of the Princeton University Libraries. The Chronicle is published three times a year (Autumn, Winter, Spring) under the sponsorship of the Friends of the Princeton University Library. Volumes 1-60 available online.