Skip to main content

Philosophy: Background Information

Philosophy Research Guide

Philosophical Dictionaries

English Philosophy Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias—English

Baldwin, James Mark. Dictionary of Philosophy and Psychology. New York: Macmillan, 1901-05. 3 v. in 4.
(DR) B41 .B3 (F) 6007 .14

Blackburn, Simon. The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy. Oxford: Oxford Univ. Press, 1996. 418 p.
(DR) B41 .B53 1996

The Concise Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy and Philosophers. Ed. by J. O. Urmson. London: Hutchinson, 1960. 431 p.
(DR) B41 .U7

A Dictionary of Philosophical Quotations. Ed. by A. J. Ayer and Jane O'Grady. Oxford: Blackwell, 1992. 528 p.
(DR) B68 .D521 1992

A Dictionary of Philosophy. Ed. by Anthony Flew. 2nd rev. ed. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1984. 380 p.
(DR) B41 .D52 1984

Dictionary of Philosophy. Ed. by I. Frolov. 2nd rev. ed. Moscow: Progress, 1984. 464 p.
(F) B48 .R9 F5613 1984

Dictionary of Philosophy. Ed. by Murad Saifulin and Richard R. Dixon. New York: International Publishers, 1984, 464 p.
(DR) B41 .F5513 1984b

Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas. Ed. by Philip P. Weiner. New York: Scribner, 1973-74. 5 v.
(DR) CB5 .D52 1973

An Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Ed. by G. H. R. Burke. London: Routledge, 1988. 935 p.
(DR) B51. E52

The Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Ed. by Paul Edwards. New York: Macmillan, 1972. 8 v.
(DR) and (F) B41 .E5 1972. Supplement (DR) B41 .E5 1996.

Krauth, Charles Portersfield. A Vocabulary of the Philosophical Sciences. New York: Sheldon, 1878. 1044 p.
(F) B41 .K8

Lacey, A. R. A Dictionary of Philosophy. 2nd ed. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1986. 266 p.
(DR) B41 .L32 1986

The Philosopher's Index Thesaurus. 2nd ed. Bowling Green, Ohio: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, 1992. 112 p.
(DR) Z7127 .P47 Index

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. London: Routledge, 1998.
(DR) B51 .R68 1998 Online Access


French Philosophy Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias—French

Blanc, Elie. Dictionnaire de philosophie ancienne, moderne et contemporaine. Paris: P. Lethielleux, 1906-08. 2 v. in 1.
(F) 6007 .184

Dictionnaire des philosophes. Ed. by Denis Huisman. Paris: PUF, 1984. 2 v.
(DR) B42 .D52

Durozoi, Gerard. Dictionnaire de philosophie. Paris: Nathan, 1987. 367 p.
(F) B42 .D87

Encyclopédie philosophique universelle. Paris: PUF, 1989-92. 3 v. in 5.
(DR) B51 .E52 1989

Foulquie, Paul. Dictionnaire de la langue philosophique. 2nd ed. Paris: PUF, 1969. 779 p.
(DR) B42 .F6 1969

Lalande, Andre. Vocabulaire technique et critique de la philosophie. Paris: PUF, 1972. 1123 p.
(DR) B42 .L3 19 72

Lercher, Alain. Les mots de la philosophie. Paris: Belin, 1985. 351 p.
(DR) B42 .L42


German Philosophy Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias—German

Eisler, Rudolf. Wörterbuch der philosophischen Begriffe. 4th ed. Berlin: Mittler, 1927-30. 3 v.
(DR) B43 .E4 1927

Enzyklopädie Philosophie und Wissenschaftstheorie. Mannheim: Bibliographisches Institut Wissenschafts-Verlag, 1980- .
(F) B51.4 .E68

Historisches Wörterbuch der Philosophie. Basil: Schwabe, 1971-.
(DR) B43 .R59 [In progress.]

Kosing, Alfred. Wörterbuch der Philosophie. West Berlin: Verlag des Europäische Buch, 1985. 616 p.
(DR) B43 .K67 1985

Lexikon der Erkenntnistheorie und Metaphysik. Ed. by Friedo Ricken. 256 p.
(F) B43 .L49 1984

Lexikon der philosophischen Werke. Ed. by Franco Volpi and Julian Nida-Rumelin. Stuttgart: A. Kroner, 1988. 863 p.
(DR) B43 .L5 1988

Metzler Philosophen Lexikon: Von den Vorsokratikern bis zu den Neuen Philosophen. Ed. by Bernd Lutz. Stuttgart: J. B. Metzler, 1995. 2nd ed. 954 p.
(DR) B104.M48 1995

Metzler Philosophie Lexikon: Begriffe und Definitionen. Ed. by Peter Prechtl and Franz-Peter Burkard. Stuttgart: J. B. Metlzer, 1996. 593 p.
(DR) B43.M474 1996

Philosophen-Lexikon: Handwörterbuch der Philosophie nach Personen. Berlin: W. de Gruyter, 1949-50. 2 v.
(F) B43 .P5 1949

Philosophenlexikon. Ed. by Erhard Lange and Dietrich Alexander. West Berlin: Verlag Das Europaischen Buch, 1982. 973 p.
(F) B43 .P52 1982

Philosophie und Naturwissenschaften: Wörterbuch zu den philosophischen Fragen der Naturwissenschaften. 2nd ed. Berlin: Dietz, 1983. 1044 p.
(F) B67 .P49 1983


 

Italian Philosophy Dictionaries

Dictionaries and encyclopedias—Italian

Abbagnano, Nicola. Dizionario di filosofía. 2nd ed. Turin: Unione tipo-grafico-editrice torinese, 1971. 930 p.
(DR) ZB44 .A2 1971

Dizionario dei filosofi. Florence: Sansoni, 1976. 1301 p.
(F) B44 .D47

Dizionario dei filosofi dei Novecento. Florence: L. S. Olschki, 1985. 825 p.
(F) B804 .D59 1985

Enciclopedia filosòfica. 2nd ed. Florence: Sansoni, 1968-69. 6 v.
(DR) B44 .E52

Enciclopedia Garganti di filosofia e logica, linguistica, epistemologia, pedagogia, psicologia, psicoanalisi, sociologia, antropologia culturale, religioni, teologia. Milan: Garganti, 1993. 1268 p.
(DR) AG35.E486 1993


 

 

Bibliographies & Indexes

Bibliographies & Indexes

Bibliographies

Bast, Rainer A. Die philosophische Bibliothek: Geschichte und Biblaiographie einer philosophischen Textreihe seit 1868. Hamburg: Meiner, 1991. 977 p.
(DR) B3 .B377 1991

Bibliografia filosofica italiana. 1850-1900(F) Z7125.I79; 1900-1950(F) Z7125.I8; 1951-present—(F) Z7127.B4

Bibliographie de la philosophie. V. 1- (1954- ). Quarterly.
(F) Z7127 .B52

Gabel, Gurnot, U., ed. Bibliographien zur Philosophie. 1980-present. Individual volumes listing dissertations and theses on German philosophers. Shelved individually.

Geldsetzer, Lutz. Bibliography of the International Congresses of Philosophy: Proceedings, 1900-1978. Munich: Saur, 1981. 207p.
(DR) Z7125 .G4513

Geldsetzer, Lutz. In Honorem: eine Bibliographie philosophischer Festschriften und ihrer Beiträge. Dusseldorf-Gerresheim: Philosophia Verlag, 1975. 226 p.
(DR) Z7125 .G452

Guerry, Herbert. A Bibliography of Philosophical Bibliographies. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1977. 332 p.
(F) Z7125.A1 G83

Hoffmans, Jean. La philosophie et les philosophes: ouvrages généraux. New York: Burt Franklin, 1968. 395 p.
(DR) Z7125 .H69

Horning, Emily. Philosophy: a Selected Bibliography. Sterling Memorial Library, Yale University, 1996.

International philosophical bibliography/Répertoire bibliographique de la philosophie. Louvain : Institut supérieur de philosophie, 1949-1990
(DR) Z7127 .R42

International philosophical bibliography = Répertoire bibliographique de la philosophie = Bibliografisch repertorium van de wijsbegeerte. Louvain-la-Neuve : Editions de l'Institut supérieur de philosophie, Université catholique de Louvain, 1991-
(DR) Z7127 .R42

Tobey, Jeremy L. The History of Ideas: A Bibliographical Introduction. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Clio Books, 1975-77. 2 v.
(DR) Z7125 .T58 [V. 1Classical Antiquity; v. 2Medieval and Early Modern Europe.]

Varet, Gilbert. Manuel de bibliographie philosophique. Paris: PUF, 1956. 2 v.
(DR) Z7125 .V5

Zur Geschichte der Philosophie: einführende Darstellung, Kritik, Literaturangaben. Ed. by Karl Bärthlein.Würzburg: Königshausen & Neumann, 1983-84. 2 vols. 1. Von der Antike bis zur Aufklärung. 2. Von Kant bis zur Gegenwart.
(F) B82.Z87

Specialized Reference Sources

Specialized Reference Sources:
Aesthetics

A Companion to Aesthetics. Ed. by David E. Cooper. Oxford: Blackwell, 1992. 466 p.
(DR) BH56 .C65 1995

Estetika: slovar. Moscow: Izd-vo polit. lit-ry, 1989. 445 p.
(SLAV) BH 56 .E78

Giraldi, Giovanni. Dizionario di estetica e de linguistica generale. Milan: Pergamena, 1975. 946 p.
(F) Oversize BH56 .G57q

Souriau, Etienne. Vocabulaire d'esthétique. Paris: PUF, 1990. 1415 p.
(DR) BH56.S68 1990


Specialized Reference Sources:
Analysis (Philosophy)

A Bibliography on Reference and Some Related Topics in Analytical Philosophy. Ed. by Wulf Kellerwessel. New York: P. Lang, 1996. 239 p.
(F) Z7128.R44 B53 1995


Specialized Reference Sources:
Empiricism

Encyclopedia of Empiricism. Ed. by Don Garrett and Edward Barbanell. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. 455 p.
(DR) B816.E53 1997


Specialized Reference Sources:
Epistemology

A Companion to Epistemology. Ed. by Jonathan Dancy and Ernest Sosa. Oxford: Blackwell Reference, 1992. 541 p.
(DR) BD161.C637 1992

Lexikon der Erkenntnistheorie und Metaphysik. Ed. by Friedo Ricken. Munich: C. H. Beck, 1984. 256 p.
(F) B43 .L49 1984


Specialized Reference Sources:
Ethics

Baker, John. A Select Bibliography of Moral Philosophy. Oxford: Sub-faculty of Philosophy, Univ. of Oxford, 1977. 144 p.
(F) Z5873 .B2

A Bibliographic Guide to the Comparative Study of Ethics. Ed. by John Carman and Mark Jurgensmeyer. Cambridge: Cambridge Univ. Press, 1991. 811 p.
(DR) Z5873 .N48 1991

Bibliography of Bioethics. v. 1 (1975- ). Washington, D.C.: Kennedy Institute of Ethics.
(F) Z6675 .E8 B5 (1965- )

The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics. Eds. Patricia H. Werhane and R. Edward Freeman. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Business, 1995. 701p. (V. 11 of The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management).
Pliny Fisk Library (SXF). Firestone HD30.15 .B522 1995

A Companion to Ethics. Ed. by Peter Singer. Oxford: Blackwell Reference, 1991. 565 p.
(DR) BJ1012.C62 1991

Davis, Donald Edward. Ecophilosophy: A Field Guide to the Literature. San Pedro, Calif.: R. & E. Miles, 1989. 137 p.
(F) Z5322 .E2 D38

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics . Ed. Ruth Chadwick. New York: Academic Press, 1998. 5 v.
(DR) BJ63.E44 1998

Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ed. by Warren T. Reich. Rev. ed. New York: Macmillan, 1995. 5 v.
(DR) QH332 .E52 1995

Encyclopedia of Ethics. Ed. by Lawrence C. Becker. New York: Garland, 1992. 2 v.
(DR) BJ63 .E45 1992s

Encyclopedia of Ethics 2nd ed.. Ed. by Lawrence C. Becker. New York: Garland, 200. 3v.
(F) BJ63 .E45 2001

Encyclopedia of Ethics. R. Shannon Duval, editor. New York : Facts On File, c1999. 302p.
(F) BJ63 .E46 1999

Encyclopedia of Ethics in Science and Technology. Ed. Nigel Barber. New York : Facts on File, 2002. 386p
(DR) Q175.35 .B37 2002

Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics. Ed. by James Hastings. New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 1908-26. 13 v.
(DR) BL31 .E4

Encyclopedia of Values and Ethics. Joseph P. Hester. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1996. 376p.
(DR) BJ63.H47 1996

Encyclopedia of War and Ethics. Ed. Donald A. Wells. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996. 539p.
(F) B105.W3 E53 1996

The Ethics CD: A Collection of Federal Executive Branch Ethics Laws, Executive Orders, Regulations, Advisory Opinions, and Program Administration Aids. Washington, D.C.: Office of Government Ethics, 1994-.
(DOCS) Y3. ET 3:16/year

Ethics in U.S. Government: an Encyclopedia of Investigations, Scandals, Reforms, and Legislation. Robert North Roberts. Westport, CT : Greenwood Press, 2001. 367p.
(F)JK468.E7 R556 2001

Guide bibliographique pour la recherche en ethique. Rimouski, Quebec: Univ. de Quebec a Rimouski, 1985. 136 p.
(F) Z5873 .G84

International Encyclopedia of Ethics. Ed. John K. Roth. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1995. 988p.
(DR) BJ63.I573 1995.

The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics. Eds. James F. Childress and John Macquarrie. Philadelphia: Westminster Press, 1986. 678 p
(DR) BJ1199 .W47 1986


Specialized Reference Sources:
Events (Philosophy)

Casati, Roberto. 50 Years of Events: An Annotated Bibliography, 1947 to 1997. Bowling Green, Ohio: Philosophy Documentation Center, Bowling Green State University, 1997. 402 p.
(F) Z7125 .C37 1997


Specialized Reference Sources:
Existentialism

Nauman, St. Elmo. The New Dictionary of Existentialism. Secaucus, N.J.: Citadel, 1972. 166 p.
(F) 6250 .671


Specialized Reference Sources:  
Feminist philosophy

A Companion to Feminist Philosophy. Ed. by Alison M. Jaggar and Iris M. Young. Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 1998. 703 p.
(DR) HQ1190.C665 1998

Heinz, Marion. Feministische Philosophie: Bibliographie 1970-1995. Bielefeld: Kleine, 1996. 425 p.
(F) HQ1190.H45 1995

Humm, Maggie. The Dictionary of Feminist Theory. New York: Harvester Wheatsheaf, 1989. 278 p.
(DR) HQ1115 .H86 1989b

Kersey, Ethel M. Women Philosophers: A Bio-Critical Source Book. New York: Greenwood Press, 1989. 230 p.
(DR) B105 .W6 K47 1989

 


Specialized Reference Sources:
Logic

Dictionary of Logic as Applied in the Study of Language: Concepts, Methods, Theories. Ed. by Withold Marciszewski. The Hague: M. Nijhoff, 1981. 436 p.
(F) BC9 .D48

Greenstein, Carol Horn. Dictionary of Logical Terms and Symbols. New York: Van Nordstrand Reinhold, 1978. 188 p.
(SM) and (ST) QA9 .G698

Kondakov, N. I. Logicheskii slovar-spravochnik. 2nd ed. Moscow: "Nauk," 1975. 717 p.
(F) BC9 .K62 1975

 -----. Wörterbuch der Logik. Leipzig: VEB Bibliographisches Institut, 1983. 536 p.
(F) BC9 .K6215 1983

[Omega]--Bibliography of Mathematical Logic. Ed. by Gert H. Muller. Berlin: Springer-Verlag, 1987- . 6 v.
(SM) Z6654 .M26 O47 1987

A Selective Bibliography of Philosophical Logic. Ed. by Christopher Peacock and Dana Scott. 3rd ed. Oxford: Sub- faculty of Philosophy, Univ. of Oxford, 1978. 125 p.
(F) Z7128 .L7 P42 1978

Vax, Louis. Logique. Paris: PUF, 1982. 189 p.
(F) BC9.V39 1982


Specialized Reference Sources:
Metaphysics

Handbook of Metaphysics and Ontology. Ed. by Hans Burkhardt and Barry Smith. Munich: Philosophia Verlag, 1991. 2 v.
(DR) BD111 .H225 1991

Lexikon der Erkenntnistheorie und Metaphysik. Ed. by Friedo Ricken. 256 p.
(F) B43 .L49 1984


Specialized Reference Sources:
Phenomenology

Stewart, David. Exploring Phenomenology: A Guide to the Field and Its Literature. 2nd ed. Athens: Ohio Univ. Press, 1990. 181 p.
(F) B829 .S67 1990


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy--17th century

The Cambridge History of Seventeenth-Century Philosophy. Ed. by Daniel Garber and Michael Ayers. Cambridge: Cambridge Univ. Press, 1998. 2 vols.
(DR) B801.C35 1998

 


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy, American

Nauman, St. Elmo. Dictionary of American Philosophy. New York: Philosophical Library, 1972. 273 p.
(DR) B851 .N3


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy, Ancient

L'Année philologique.
(SC) 0459.125 (1924- ) and (DR) Z7016 .M35A (1974- ) (Index Table) / Electronic version, Database of Classical Bibliography, 1976-1987, is on the Library Web Computer.

Bell, Albert A. Resources in Ancient Philosophy: An Annotated Bibliography of Scholarship in English, 1965-1989. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1991. 799 p.
(DR) Z7125 .B39 1991

Brunschwig, Jacques. Le savoir grec: dictionnaire critique. Paris: Flammarion, 1996. 1091 p. 
(F) DF16 .B78 1996

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy. Ed. by Donald J. Zeyl. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. 614 p.
(DR) B163 .E53 1997

Peters, F. E. Greek Philosophical Terms: A Historical Lexicon. New York: New York Univ. Press, 1967. 234 p.
(F) and (SC) 6007 .711

Les Présocratiques: Bibliographie analytique (1879-1980). Ed. by L. Pasquet. Montreal: Editions Bellarmin, 1988. 610 p.
(F) Z7129.G7 P36
 


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy, Asian

Chan, Wing-tsit. Chinese Philosophy, 1949-1963: An Annotated Bibliography of Mainland Chinese Publications. Honolulu: East-West Center Press, 1967. 290 p.
(DR) and (Gest) Z7129 .C5 C48

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy. Ed. by Brian Carr and indira Mahalingam. London: Routledge, 1997. 1136 p.
(DR) B121.C66 1997

The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen. Ed. by Ingrid Fischer-Schreiber. Boston: Shambhala, 1989. 468 p.
(DR) and (Gest) BL1005.L4813 1989

The Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies. Ed. by Sibajiban Bhattacharya. Delhi: Motilal Banarsidass, 1970-93. 6 v.
(DR) B131 .E5

Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies: Advaita Vedanta up to Samkara and His Pupils. Ed. by Karl H. Potter. Princeton: Princeton Univ. Press, 1981. 635 p.
(F) and (SREL) B132 .A3 E52

Fu, Charles Wei-hsun. Guide to Chinese Philosophy. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1978. 292 p.
(DR) Z7129 .C5 F8

Great Thinkers of the Eastern World: The Major Thinkers and the Philosophical and Religious Classics of China, India, Japan, Korea, and the World of Islam. Ed. by Ian P. McGreal. New York: HarperCollins, 1995. 505 p.
(DR) B5005 .G74 1995.

Grimes, John A. A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy: Sanskrit Terms Defined in English. Albany: State Univ. of New York Press, 1989. 440 p.
(F) B131 .G67 1989

Inada, Kenneth K. Guide to Buddhist Philosophy. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1985. 226 p.
(DR) Z7128 .B93 I53 1985

Potter, Karl H. Guide to Indian Philosophy. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1988. 159 p.
(F) Z7129.I5 P68 1988

The Rider Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion: Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen. Ed. by Ingrid Fischer- Schreiber. London: Rider, 1989. 468 p.
(DR) BL1005 .R52

Return to Top


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy, Medieval

International Medieval Bibliography. 1967- .
(DR) Z6203 .I63

Medieval Philosophers. Ed. by Jeremiah Hackett. Detroit: Gale, 1992. (Dictionary of Literary Biography, vol. 115.) 465 p.
(DR) PN451.D53 v.115 (Shelved with Dictionary of Literary Biography series.)

Sieben, Hermann Josef. Voces: eine Bibliographie zu Wörtern und Begriffen aus der Patristik (1918-1978). Berlin: W. de Gruyter, 1980.
(F) Z7791 .S6

Vasoli, Cesare. Il pensiero medievale. Bari: Laterza, 1971.
(F) 6047 .0092

Wuellner, Bernard. A Dictionary of Scholastic Philosophy. 2nd ed. Milwaukee: Bruce, 1966. 339 p.
(F) 6007 .986


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy, Renaissance

Riedl, John Orth. A Catalogue of Renaissance Philosophers (1350-1650). Milwaukee: Marquette Univ. Press, 1940. 179 p.
(F) 6050.765 


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy and literature

Critical Survey of Literary Theory. Ed. by Frank N. Magill. Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1987. 4 v.
(DR) PN45 .C74 1987

Thomas, Edmund J. Writers and Philosophers: A Sourcebook of Philosophical Influences on Literature. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990. 269 p.
(DR) PN49 .T447 1990


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy and science

Bibliography of Bioethics. V. 1 (1975- ). Washington, D.C.: Kennedy Institute of Ethics.
(F) Z6675 .E8 B5 (1965- )

Blackwell, Richard J. A Bibliography of the Philosophy of Science, 1945-1981. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1983. 585 p.
(F) Z7405 .P74 B57 1983

Davis, Donald Edward. Ecophilosophy: A Field Guide to the Literature. San Pedro, Calif.: R. & E. Miles, 1989. 137 p.
(F) Z5322 .E2 D38

Durbin, Paul T. Dictionary of Concepts in the Philosophy of Science. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988. 362 p.
(DR) Q174.7 .D87 1988

Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ed. by Warren T. Reich. Rev. ed. New York: Macmillan, 1995. 5 v.
(DR) QH332 .E52 1995

Philosophie und Naturwissenschaften: Wörterbuch zu den philosophischen Fragen der Naturwissenschaften. 2nd ed. Berlin: Dietz, 1983. 1044 p.
(F) B67 .P49 1983


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy and social sciences

The Blackwell Companion to Social Theory. Ed. by Bryan S. Turner. Oxford: Blackwell, 1996. 484 p.
(DR) H61.B522 1996

A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy. Ed. by Robert E. Goodin and Philip Pettit. Oxford: Blackwell, 1993. 679 p.
(DR) JA71.C565 1993

Dictionnaire de philosophie politique. Ed. by Philippe Raynaud and Stephane Rials. Paris: Presses Universitaires de France, 1996. 776 p.
(DR) JA62.D437 1996


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy of language

A Companion to the Philosophy of Language. Ed. by Bob Hale and Crispin Wright. Oxford: Blackwell, 1997. 721 p.
(F) P106 .C5945 1997


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy of mind

A Companion to the Philosophy of Mind. Ed. by Samuel Guttenplan. Oxford: Blackwell Reference, 1994. 642 p.
(DR) BD418.3 .C62 1994

Lindley, Richard. The Philosophy of Mind: A Bibliography. Oxford: Sub-faculty of Philosophy, Univ. of Oxford, 1977-78. 2 v. in 1.
(F) Oversize Z7204 .M55 L56q


Specialized Reference Sources:
Philosophy of religion

A Companion to the Philosophy of Religion. Ed. by Philip L Quinn and Charles Taliaferro. Oxford: Blackwell, 1997. 639 p.
(DR) BL51 .C634 1996

Whitney, Barry L. Theodicy: An Annotated Bibliography on the Problem of Evil, 1960-1990. New York: Garland, 1993. 650 p.
(F) Z7850 .W48 1993


Specialized Reference Sources:
Pragmatism

Shook, John R. Pragmatism: An Annotated Bibliography, 1898-1940. Amsterdam: Rodopi, 1998. 617 p.
(F) Z7128.P8 S566 1998

Philosophy & Religion Librarian

Wayne Bivens-Tatum's picture
Wayne Bivens-Tatum
Contact:
Firestone 1-6-F1
8-6367
For appointments, email me or check my WASS calendar for office hours.