African Country Sites
- African Country Sites (country sites from the Assocation of African Studies) A comprehensive list of web sites for African nations; including South Africa and the Truth & Reconciliation Commission
African Studies Programs
Associations & Institutes
Business & Economics
- Africa Business Pages
- African Chambers of Commerce
- Africa's Renewal: Tracking economic development (UN)
- Center for the Study of African Economies (Oxford University)
- Mbendi Information for Africa offers extensive business and commerical information on Africa, including African stock exchanges and industries such as Oil, Gas, Chemicals, Mining etc
- Virtual Africana "East Africa's most comprehensive Online Information Resource Center for business"
Development
- Africa Action a non-profit organization which works to "democratize foreign policy debates that determine the U.S. role in Africa." Includes articles on African development and briefings on current issues.
- African Development Forum 2000 (U.N. Economic Commission for Africa)
- African Development Institute
- African Union
- The African Water Page
- Center for the Study of African Economies (Oxford University)
- The Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
- ECOWAS, Economic Community of West African States
- International Monetary Fund - Hoover Institution
- One World Online
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
- Population Index on the Web
- World Bank
Gateways to African Sites
- Africa Research Central: a clearinghouse of African primary resources
- Africa South of the Sahara: Internet Resources (ASA) excellent guide to resources.
- Africa Links--Gateway
- Afrique.com: Local News, Travel, Cultural Info etc.
- An A-Z of African Studies on the Internet
- Rubani: Africa's Web Directory
- Woyaa!
History
- Ancient Nubia
- 1994 Genocide in Rwanda
A report by Alison Des Forges put out by Human Rights Watch, 1999. Leave None to Tell the Story: Genocide in Rwanda. - Repositories of Primary Sources
- Wonders of the African World (Series from PBS with Henry Louis Gates)
- World History Archives: Africa
Law
- Africa Legal Aid
- African Constitutions includes the constitutions of: Congo, Libya, Madagascar, Mauritania, Morocco, Rwanda, South Africa, Tunisia and Zambia.
- Environmental Law in Africa
Literature
- African Literature and Writers on the Internet
- African Review of Books
- Afrique Francophone
- Bibliography of Lusophone Women Writers
- A Celebration of Women Writers
- Current Writing: Text and Reception in Southern Africa
- Francophone African Literature
- Littérature africaine francophone (LITAF)
- Organization of Women Writers of Africa (OWWA)
News
Most Current:
- African News (Princeton only)
- AllAfrica.com
- BBC World Service - Africa
- CNN - Africa
- Mail and Guardian
Other:
- Africa Confidential
- Africa Newswire Network
- Africa Online - News & Information
- Africa World Press Guide
- African Radio Programs
- Independent Online (South Africa)
- Jeune Afrique(Paris)
- News on Africa
- The New Times (Rwanda)
- Panafrican News Agency
- Pan-African Newswire
- The Post (Zambia)
- The Star (South Africa)
Politics & Government
- Africa Action
- Africa: Africa Research & Information Alliance
- Africa Information Center
- African Governments on the Internet
- African Governments on the WWW
- African Human Rights Resource Center
- African Lives
- Building Peace in Rwanda and Burundi
- Central Africa Project analyzes political and ethnic conflict within and between the nations that straddle mid-Africa, including the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Burundi, Angola, Uganda, and Rwanda. Includes over twelve full text reports in the last year (a few in French only).
- Living Africa: People, Geography, and Wildlife
- USAID: Sub-Saharan Africa
Reference Works
Africabib.org indexes two databases:
Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database: indexes over 27,000 articles from over 246 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
African Women's Database: indexes over 20,000 citations from 1986 to current; covers books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical andjournal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations; conference papers; and videocassettes.
Science & Technology
- African Journals Online a project managed by INASP to promote the awareness and use of African-published journals in the sciences. AJOL 2000 offers the tables of contents and abstracts of articles from up to 50 journals in agricultural sciences, science and technology, health and social sciences, published in Africa.
Universities
Universities Africana Web Sites (US and Europe)
- African Collections at UC Berkeley
- African & Middle East Reading Room (Library of Congress)
- Boston University African Studies Center Web Page
- British Library Africana Collection
- Columbia University African Studies Internet Resources
- Cornell University African Studies Homepage
- Northwestern University Library/Africana Collection
- University of Florida Africana Collection
- University of Illinois/Center for African Studies
- University of Pennsylvania African Studies
- Al Akhawayn University (Morocco)
- American University in Cairo
- Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
- Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education, South Africa
- Rhodes University
- University of Cape Town
- University Eduardo Mondlane (Mozambique)
- University of the Free State
- University of Johannesburg
- University of Natal (Pietermaritzberg)
- University of South Africa
- University of Witswatersrand
- University of Zambia
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait