Showing 8 Guides
Showing 53 Databases
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Index 1954+
A collaborative project to preserve and disseminate African cultural materials. Materials come from archives and libraries from across Africa.
Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from the British national archives. Documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc. 1971+
Material from many libraries and archives that explores the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
Records from the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs.
Reproduces records relating to Africa from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices in the UK National Archives.
Reproduces records relating to the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices in the UK National Archives.
Presents a scholarly edition of all constitutions, amendments, and declarations of rights between 1776 and 1849 worldwide (1860 for the United States). Includes drafts, failed constitutions, and constitutions for sub-national bodies.
Partially searchable digital images of books, primarily British, printed in the eighteenth century. Based on the Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue. Also see the alternative interface Artemis Primary Sources that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
Comprehensive information on the world of Islam in disciplines ranging from religion and history to politics and culture with a geographic and chronological scope encompassing the early Arab-Islamic Empire, Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states
Material from the British government on the countries of South Asia from shortly before Indian partition and independence up to 1980. Includes DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew.
Documents from Great Britain's Foreign & Commonwealth Office, Prime Minister's Office, and Defence Intelligence files relating to Israel, Palestine, Turkey, Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, and other Middle East nations. Includes correspondence, minutes, reports and newspaper cuttings from the period prior to the 1973 Arab-Israeli ("Yom Kippur") War and its effect on global industry, political relations and social stability. Also provides in-depth coverage of separate conflicts in Cyprus, internal and external political relationships, and details about military exports.
Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from the British national archives. Documents the politics, administration, wars and diplomacy of Iraq from 1914 to 1974.
Guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
Digital edition of the Goldsmiths'-Kress collections of books on that document economic and business activity in the West, from 1450 to 1945. Materials include books, pamphlets and ephemera and cover a broad range of topics in political science, history, sociology, and banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. 1450-1945
English-language multidisciplinary archives containing diaries, sketches, travel journals, scrapbooks, publications and correspondence of the polymath and collector Morse, known for his work in natural history (zoology, evolution, astronomy, methodology), ethnography (material culture, music, games, printing, Ainu, religion) and art history (including archaeology, architecture) bridging Japan and America from the 1880s to the 1920s.
Primary source material from far-right and fascist movements, alongside of radical leftist groups. Includes ephemera, election materials, government documents and oral histories from groups in the United States, Europe, and Australia including John Birch Society, Black Panther Party, Ku Klux Klan, LaRouche, anti-integration groups, neo-Nazis, Communist and anti-Communist groups, Christian Identity, British Union of Fascists, British National Party, and religious cults. Spans 1930s-21st century.
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Declassified documentary records of the U.S. intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War (1945-1991). With focus on People's Republic of China, North Korea and North Vietnam. Also covered are Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, and Australia.
Contains full-text documents from U.S. intelligence agencies covering the Middle East and North Africa from the end of WWII to 2009. Includes CIA reports and briefings. Note: Select ‘this collection only’ to limit search to this resource.
Subject-inclusive, language-inclusive bibliography of 50,000 publications, 48,000 personal names, 4,572 issuing bodies and 756 subjects.
Streaming video of international newsreels produced between 1929 and 1966. All are accompanied by transcripts, with those in foreign languages translated into English.
Digital edition of over 30 historical collections of primary source documents related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Materials include books, manuscripts, U.S. government records, pamphlets, and ephemera.
