Research Guides: WRI 175: Living with AI: Background

Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Encyclopedias are great ways to get background information and understand the terms used to describe topics.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Series of authoritative, analytic reviews in over 50 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. 1950+
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Detailed guides to a wide variety of disciplines.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and other reference works in the humanities and social sciences, published by Oxford University Press.
SAGE Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Handbooks and encyclopedias in history, the sciences, and the social sciences.
Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of information technology and programming books, mostly published by O'Reilly which allows searching for code examples and specific technical information
Limited to 3 simultaneous users
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Collection of lectures that synthesize various research or development topics in biomedical engineering, communications, artificial intelligence, computer science, and electrical engineering.

Wikipedia
While it is not advisable to use this as a source in an academic paper, it can sometimes LEAD you to other great sources, especially on contemporary topics.

Our Maps and GIS Data service can help find historical as well as contemporary maps, and help you analyze geographical data. Our Data and Statistical Services Lab can assist with data analysis and relevant software skills.

Market data sources on self-driving cars include:

MarketResearch.com has a number of reports on autonomous vehicles (just type in keyword autonomous)
IBISWorld contains detailed reports of US industries as well as the global market, China, etc. In particular, browse:
Statista has statistics and facts from a wide range of sources and topics.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
PUL FAQ on Automobile industry
World Road Statistics (ends in 2010)
Railroad Facts
Railroad GIS and Maps

Consider policy databases including: