Research Guides: Research Seminar-specific Guides Spring 2024: Jacobs 403(3) New Deal Then & Now

Getting started...

Books from the PUL Catalog (see subject headings below)
Database searching for secondary sources in America: History and Life (U.S. and Canada) or Historical Abstracts (rest of the world)
Historical News Sources
Searches on web archives (see below) or proprietary databases such as Archives Unbound or The Great Depression and New Deal : documents decoded or Proquest History Vault

Library Catalog Subject Headings for Books

Explore any of these that are of interest.

Remember to

Sort by date, if desired.

Limit to "Online", if needed.

Combine with keywords or names of countries or key actors.

United States—History—1933-1945—Sources [Browse]
United States—History—1919-1933—Sources [Browse]
Depressions—1929—United States—Sources [Browse] or Depressions--1929 AND Keyword=letters
New Deal, 1933-1939—Sources [Browse]

Check out the differences between clicking on Sources and clicking on 'Browse.'

Check out Work Projects Administration as author and Work Projects Administration as subject

Finding Journal Articles

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1954+
Print predecessor Writings on American History covering 1904-1954 is in Firestone's General & Humanities Reference (DR) Z1236.L331.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.

Archives on the Web

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum

Living New Deal

HathiTrust

National Archives including including FERA write-up

Guide from Rutgers: Contemporary Social Welfare Policies: The 1930s to Today

Sophisticated Google Searching--quotation marks to phrase search, black & white images for letters

Sophisticated Google Scholar Searching using "search within citing articles" checkbox. For example, Levine's Documenting America, 1935-1943 which included American Culture and the Great Depression.

Library Workshops: Zotero, Data Analysis and more

Library workshops

Using Zotero to manage your citations

Library Databases with Primary Sources

Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
There are two databases from the Tennessee Valley Authority.
To find them: Click "Search" --> Card Catalog --> enter Tennessee Valley into the box labeled "Title"
History Vault This link opens in a new window
For New Deal records, choose "American Politics and Society", then look for the following:
- Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights (1872-1934)
- Progressive Era: Voices of Reform (1875-1945)
- New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies (1933-1945)

There are also records for the 1930s in the categories "Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle", "Women's Studies", and "Workers, Labor Unions, Progressives, and Radicals"
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
For New Deal records, search "By Collections" for the following:
- FBI File on Eleanor Roosevelt
- Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations
ProQuest History This link opens in a new window
Combines various historical databases from ProQuest including newspapers.
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.
Political Extremism in the Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Primary source material from far-right and fascist movements, alongside of radical leftist groups. Includes ephemera, election materials, government documents and oral histories from groups in the United States, Europe, and Australia including John Birch Society, Black Panther Party, Ku Klux Klan, LaRouche, anti-integration groups, neo-Nazis, Communist and anti-Communist groups, Christian Identity, British Union of Fascists, British National Party, and religious cults. Spans 1930s-21st century.
ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1990 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the more than 2 million documents contained in the records of the American Civil Liberties Union at the Mudd Manuscript library at Princeton University.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection is contained in Archives Unbound. 1914+
For items declassified prior to this index, see The Declassified Documents Reference System - Retrospective Collection (Firestone) Z1223.Z7D36.
Hein Online Library This link opens in a new window
Contains several libraries containing government information including Congressional Documents, Attorney General Decisions, Presidential Documents, and others.

Research Seminar-specific Guides Spring 2024

Getting started...

Books from the PUL Catalog (see subject headings below)

Database searching for secondary sources in America: History and Life (U.S. and Canada) or Historical Abstracts (rest of the world)

Historical News Sources

Searches on web archives (see below) or proprietary databases such as Archives Unbound or The Great Depression and New Deal : documents decoded or Proquest History Vault

Library Catalog Subject Headings for Books

Explore any of these that are of interest.

Remember to

Sort by date, if desired.

Limit to "Online", if needed.

Combine with keywords or names of countries or key actors.

Check out the differences between clicking on Sources and clicking on 'Browse.'

Check out Work Projects Administration as author and Work Projects Administration as subject

Finding Journal Articles

Archives on the Web

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum

Living New Deal

HathiTrust

National Archives including including FERA write-up

Guide from Rutgers: Contemporary Social Welfare Policies: The 1930s to Today

Sophisticated Google Searching--quotation marks to phrase search, black & white images for letters

Sophisticated Google Scholar Searching using "search within citing articles" checkbox. For example, Levine's Documenting America, 1935-1943 which included American Culture and the Great Depression.

Library Workshops: Zotero, Data Analysis and more

Library workshops

Using Zotero to manage your citations

Library Databases with Primary Sources