Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 128 .M78 B6 1996
Includes copious data on over 4,800 American musicals, including all Broadway, off-Broadway, resident theater productions 1877-1995, as well as other production types. Pt. 1 of the 4-vol. set lists all shows alphabetically; pt. 2 presents exhaustive indexes of songs, personnel, and a chronological listing of titles.
The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 102 M88 G3 2001
Essential 3-volume reference volume for starting research projects on all aspects of musical theater, chock full of useful information. Features substantive entries under the titles of individual shows, and entries on librettists, lyricists, and composers cite all relevant works.
Historical Dictionary of the Broadway Musical by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 102 .M88 E94 2008
Includes a chronology from 1866 to 2006, and introduction describing the evolution of the form, and a dictionary of nearly 1,000 entries arranged alphabetically by person, show title, or subject.
Show Tunes by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML128.M78 S86 2010
Covers all stage productions with published or recorded songs by 40 composers from Jerome Kern through Jeanine Tesori. Also includes notable scores by other composers, chronological listing of productions, collaborator reference listing, and song and show title indexes.
The Stephen Sondheim Encyclopedia by
Call Number: ML410.S6872 P46 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Entries cover Sondheim's numerous collaborators, from composer and directors to designers and orchestras; key songs; major works; and actors who originated roles and sang Sondheim's songs for the first time.
Chronologies of Musicals
Broadway Musicals, Show by Show by
Call Number: ML1711.8.N3 G73 2019
Publication Date: 2019
The ninth edition adds important musicals produced since the end of the 2012-2013 season through spring 2019, and features a wealth of statistics and inside information, plus critical reception, cast lists, pithy commentary about each show.
A Chronology of American Musical Theater by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 1711.8 .N3 N67 2002
Assembles a comprehensive picture of the popular American musical theater as presented on first-class stages in New York City from 1850 through early 2001.
Broadway Musicals, 1943-2004 by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 102 .M88 S74 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Provides information on every musical produced on Broadway since Oklahoma in 1943. Each entry contains a brief synopsis; the pre-Broadway story; the facts of the Broadway run itself, with dates, theatres, and cast and crew; and post-Broadway information with a detailed list of later notable productions, along with important reviews and awards.