Woodrow Wilson: A Guide to Selected Resources at the Mudd Manuscript Library

Bernard M. Baruch was a financier and public adviser. This collection consists primarily of public papers relating to Baruch's various involvements in government affairs.

The Papers of Arthur Bullard (1879-1929), journalist and statesman, chronicle the major world political and economic events relating to World War I and its aftermath. Although the bulk of the material concerns Russia and Western Europe, there are writings on political events in North Africa, Central America, and East Asia as well. The collection includes copies and originals of newspaper and magazine articles, manuscripts of several novels, travel books, and political volumes, memorandum, and correspondence, most of which was written by Bullard. There is also a file of photographs and post cards.

During World War I, Gilbert Fairchild Close held several positions in the government of President Woodrow Wilson, culminating with that of Stenographer and Private Secretary to the President. The papers document Close's work with Wilson, including the trip Close took to Europe with Wilson for the Paris Peace Conference at the conclusion of World War I.

Raymond Blaine Fosdick (1883-1972) served as Under Secretary General for the League of Nations (1919-1920) and as President of the Rockefeller Foundation (1936-1948). The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence related to military life during World War I, the formation and activities of the League of Nations, and the administration of the Rockefeller Foundation in the 1920s through 1940s. The collection also contains various writings and personal memorabilia.

Lindley M. Garrison (1864-1932) was a lawyer who served as Secretary of War for President Woodrow Wilson from 1913 to 1916. Garrison's papers document his service as Secretary of War and include correspondence, writings, and newspaper clippings.

Herbert Adams Gibbons was a journalist and foreign correspondent. The collection consists of materials of Gibbons' from the periods when he was a foreign correspondent (1909-1916) in Greece, Spain, Turkey and other Near Eastern countries, a serviceman with the American Expeditionary Forces in France (1917-1918), and a correspondent (1920-1931) for various American magazines in Europe, the Orient, and Africa.

The William Hard Papers consist of correspondence files, notes, typescripts, speeches, papers and articles relating to the career of William Hard. The papers also contain a significant amount of supplementary printed materials Hard used for research on his unpublished publication on the League of Nations fight during the Wilson presidency.

The Robert Lansing Papers document the later years of Robert Lansing (1864-1928), lawyer, writer, and the longest serving of Woodrow Wilson's three Secretaries of State. During his tenure as Secretary of State (June 23, 1915 to February 13, 1920), the United States entered the First World War on the side of the Entente Powers. Deliberations and negotiations associated with the precarious neutrality which preceded this event and the troubled peace which followed it dominated Lansing's time in office and are reflected in his papers. Lansing's interests as a lawyer, which were international in scope and substance, and the diverse subjects which commanded his attention as a writer – subjects ranging from biblical history to English etymology – are also evident.

David Lawrence, Princeton Class of 1910, was an American magazine and news service founder, editor, columnist, and author. This collection contains papers of Lawrence, including correspondence with notable twentieth century figures, articles, speeches, correspondent dispatches, radio broadcast transcripts, and manuscripts for several books.

The Liberty Loan Committee coordinated campaigns to sell U.S. Treasury bonds to the American public from 1917 to 1919 in order to fund United States involvement in World War I. The Committee was managed by the Federal Reserve. The Liberty Loan Committee Records document the four Liberty Loan and the Victory Loan campaigns and include advertisements, committee memoranda, forms and descriptions of the loans, and subscription information.

Arthur S. Link was an author, editor, scholar and publisher, but is best known as the leading historian on Woodrow Wilson and for his leadership over the publication of Wilson's papers. This collection consists of the personal papers of Link, which includes articles, correspondence, notes, office files, and presidency records of the American Historical Association.

The Collection on William F. McCombs contains materials on and by William F. McCombs, a lawyer who was actively involved in Woodrow Wilson's gubernatorial and presidential campaigns. McCombs' secretary, Maurice F. Lyons, provided transcripts of correspondence and notes authored by McCombs to Arthur S. Link, as part of Link's work on The Papers of Woodrow Wilson. Correspondence between Lyons and Link concerning the typescripts is also located in this collection, as well as a set of bound newspaper clippings on Wilson's campaigns and administrations created by McComb's sister.

Consists of papers of Magie (Princeton Class of 1897, professor of classics at Princeton University) relating primarily to his activities as a member of the staff of the American Commission to Negotiate Peace in 1919.

Alpheus T. Mason taught in the Dept. of Politics at Princeton University beginning in 1925 and authored a number of legal works as well as biographies of Supreme Court justices Harlan Fiske Stone and Louis D. Brandeis. This collection consists of papers of Mason, including material relating Stone, Brandeis and Woodrow Wilson.

Roland S. (Sletor) Morris was a leader of the Democratic Party in Pennsylvania and was the ambassador to Japan from 1917-1921. The Roland S. Morris Papers consist of correspondence, diaries, writings, and other materials that document Morris's family life, political involvement in the Democratic Party, and his position as the U.S. Ambassador to Japan from 1917-1921.

The Graduate School at Princeton offers masters and doctorate programs in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and engineering. The Graduate School Records consist of minutes, correspondence, reports, writings, applications, surveys, and memoranda, as well as forms, course listings, and information on examinations and fees.

Jessie Wilson Sayre was the daughter of U.S. President Woodrow Wilson and was a political activist. The Jessie Wilson Sayre Collection documents the close relationships amongst the Wilson and Axson families in the early twentieth century and provides details into their lives.

Consists of papers of Scott relating, for the most part, to his positions as chairman of the General Munitions Board during World War I, co-founder and chairman of the War Industries Board (1917), chief of the Cleveland Ordnance District (1924-1928), and adviser to the Army Industrial College (1925).

Consists of papers of Scott relating primarily to his mission as a military member of the Special Diplomatic Commission headed by Elihu Root, which was sent to Russia by Woodrow Wilson in 1917.

The collection consists of materials relating to the three-day Sesquicentennial Celebration in October 1896, at which the College of New Jersey became Princeton University. In addition to ephemera and printed material distributed at the celebration, the collection includes a typescript draft of President Francis Landey Patton's sermon, sesquicentennial memorial books, a published sketchbook, official congratulations from other institutions, and press releases and newspaper clippings reporting the events.

Benjamin Strong was a prominent New York banker who was instrumental in the foundation and success of the Federal Reserve Bank. This collection contains records pertaining to the former Benjamin Strong Collection of Foreign Public Finance in Princeton University Library, which was funded by Strong with the objective of acquiring books and original source material chronicling the development of foreign public finance, central banking, and international trade.

The Papers of Henry Burling Thompson, Class of 1877, (1857-1935) consist of some 500 loose pieces of correspondence (much of it incoming letters), eight letterpress copy books, and one scrapbook of printed matter relating to the Princeton Endowment Fund campaign of 1919-1920. The loose letters are dated from 1906 through 1913, and all of them pertain to Princeton matters. The eight copy books contain copies of Thompson's outgoing correspondence in about 4500 pages, about 1200 of which deal with Princeton.

Identified post-1887 with the commercial development of Tacoma, Wash., Wallace became one of the most influential financiers of the U.S. Northwest and was a leader of the Democratic party in the region. Consists of correspondence primarily of Wallace, former member of the Democratic National Committee in 1916, relating to the campaign and reelection of president Woodrow Wilson.

The Woodrow Wilson Foundation was an organization formed in 1921 in New York City for the "perpetuation of Wilson's ideals" through research grants and publications. The collection consists of the administrative records of the Woodrow Wilson Foundation, the bulk of which are financial records, correspondence, notes, committee minutes, press releases, research proposals, and awards dating from 1921-1963. The collection also includes a small amount of audiovisual material, photographs and sound recordings.