Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages," including a bibliographic index. See "GlottoScope"
for endangered languages whose "descriptive status" is the reference ("long") grammar.
Endangered Languages Project
"Online resource for samples and research on endangered languages as well as a forum for advice and best practices for those working to strengthen linguistic diversity." Search its Catalogue
of over 3,000 endangered languages.
The concise Oxford dictionary of linguistics
P.H. Matthews. [Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2007-
A dictionary of linguistics and phonetics
David Crystal. Malden, MA ; Oxford : Blackwell Pub., 2008.
Encyclopedia of language & linguistics
2nd ed. Brown, Keith, ed.-in-chief. 14 v. Amsterdam, London : Elsevier, 2006.
Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online
Lexicon of the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European, including Latin, Greek, Slavic, Proto-Celtic, Old Frisian, Armenian, Hittite, Luvian, the Iranian verb and Proto-Nostratic.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Includes 850 entries of articles on most areas of linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary, especially helpful for providing dates and quotations for the earliest instance of each sense of a word. Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries. Includes Historical Thesaurus.