What's in this Guide
The Department of Special Collections holds an extensive collection of archives, correspondence, manuscripts, and other materials by Latin American and Caribbean authors and intellectuals.
This guide lists all of the collections and links to the corresponding finding aids.
Illustration: Julio Silva (born 1930), Julio Cortázar, 1991. Ink and brush drawing. Graphic Arts Collection, Princeton University Library.
Collections
- Juan Abreu Papers
- Margarita Aguirre Correspondence
- Claribel Alegría Papers
- Rodolfo Alonso Correspondence and Photographs
- Jorge Amado Letters
- Thomas Colchie '64 Collection on Jorge Amado
- Reinaldo Arenas Papers
- Princeton University Library Collection of Reinaldo Arenas Materials
- Reinaldo Arenas letters to Jorge and Margarita Camacho
- Aurelio Cortés Collection of Reinaldo Arenas
- Dolores Koch Collection of Reinaldo Arenas
- Antón Arrufat Papers
- Miguel Angel Asturias Papers
- Selected Papers of Francisco Ayala
- Antonio Benítez Rojo Papers
- Albert Bensoussan Working Files on Latin American Writers
- José Bianco Papers
- James East Irby Collection on José Bianco and Jorge Luis Borges
- Guillermo Cabrera Infante Papers
- Bernardo Canal Feijóo Correspondence
- Juan Gustavo Cobo Borda Papers
- Thomas Colchie '64 Papers
- Pedro Consuegra Papers
- Miguel Correa Novels
- Julio Cortázar Papers
- Edgardo Cozarinsky Papers
- Arcadio Díaz Quiñones Papers
- Jorge Díaz Papers
- Eliseo Diego Papers
- José Donoso Papers
- Jorge Edwards Collection
- Diamela Eltit Papers
- Claude Esteban Letters (mostly from Octavio Paz)
- Rosario Ferré Papers
- Enrique Fierro and Ida Vitale Papers
- Carlos Franqui Collection
- Carlos Fuentes Papers
- Peggy Liss Collection on Carlos Fuentes
- Gabriel García Márquez correspondence with Rogelio García Lupo
- Juan García Ponce Papers
- Lorenzo García Vega Papers
- Elena Garro Papers
- Gabriela Mora Collection of Elena Garro
- Juan Gelman Papers
- Selected Papers of Alberto Girri
- Margo Glantz Papers
- Roberto González Echevarría Collection on Severo Sarduy and Other Latin American Writers
- Archivo de Roberto Gottardi
- Rita Guibert Collection of Latin American Writers
- Archivo de Pedro Juan Gutiérrez
- Reynaldo Hahn Letters and Manuscripts
- Liliane Hasson Collection of Latin American Writers
- H. R. Hays Correspondence with Latin American Writers
- Lorenzo Homar Correspondence
- Jorge Ibargüengoitia Papers
- Gabriel Iturri, Letters to his Mother
- Tamara Kamenszain Papers - in process
- Sonja Karsen Papers
- Arturo Lagorio Correspondence
- Pablo Le Riverend Correspondence
- Vicente Leñero Papers
- Enrique Lihn Collection
- Wolfgang A. Luchting Correspondence
- Carlos M. Luis Correspondence with members of Grupo Orígenes
- José Martínez Sotomayor Papers
- Augusto Monterroso Papers
- Manuel Mujica Láinez Papers
- Archivo de Salvador Novo
- Silvina Ocampo Papers
- Fraga and Peña Collection of the Ocampo Family
- María Rosa Oliver Papers
- Abelardo Oquendo Correspondence
- Bernardo Ortiz de Montellano Papers
- José Emilio Pacheco Papers
- Yolanda Pantin Papers - In process
- Jean Clarence Lambert Collection of Octavio Paz, 1951-1992
- Néstor Perlongher Collection
- Virgilio Piñera Collection
- Ricardo Piglia Papers
- Sergio Pitol Papers
- Alejandra Pizarnik Papers
- Frank Graziano Working Files for Alejandra Pizarnik: A Profile
- Plural Editorial Files
- Sergio Ramírez Papers
- Princeton University Library Collection of Margaret Randall Materials
- Selected Correspondence of Margaret Randall
- Carlos Ribeiro Papers
- Review: Latin American Literature and Arts Author Files
- Reina María Rodríguez Papers
- Emir Rodríguez Monegal Papers
- Alejandro Rossi Papers
- Juan José Saer Manuscripts
- Severo Sarduy Family Correspondence
- François Wahl Collection on Severo Sarduy
- Paintings and drawings by Severo Sarduy
- Danubio Torres Fierro Papers
- Ann Tashi Slater Collection of Cuban Writings
- Luiz Forjaz Trigueiros Correspondence
- Mercedes Valdivieso Literary Correspondence
- Mario Vargas Llosa Papers
- Idea Vilariño Papers
- Oscar Hermes Villordo Papers
- Vuelta Editorial Files
- Mauricio Wacquez Papers
- Alvaro Yunque Correspondence
- Saúl Yurkievich Papers
Finding Aids
To browse and cross-search the finding aids of all the collections listed in this guide as well as many other holdings of the Department of Special Collections, visiting the Library's Finding Aids site is recommended.
Conducting Research
The Department of Special Collections welcomes researchers to its reading room in the Harvey S. Firestone Library.
Click here for information about collections, services, and access policies.
Reference and Research Assistance
Library Research Grants
Each year, the Friends of the Princeton University Library offer short-term grants to promote scholarly use of the Library's Special Collections. Grants are meant to help defray expenses incurred in traveling to and residing in Princeton during the tenure of the grant.
Additional information can be found in the Library Research Grants web page.