Skip to main content

Environmental Economics

Environment from an Economic Perspective

Econlit 1886- Index with selected abstracts of international economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Includes coverage of major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full text book reviews, dissertations, & working papers.
ABI/INFORM 1971- Abstracts and indexes articles from business journals, trade & speciality publications, & international titles.
Food & Agriculture Organization Index 1945- Includes FAO working documents. Princeton holds FAO Documents from 1967 to 1998 in microfiche. Excellent source for land & water development, fisheries, economic & social policy, investment, nutrition, sustainable agriculture, rural development, food standards, & commodities & trade.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences 1951- Indexes social sciences journals & books from over 100 languages & countries.

Economics from an Environmental Perspective

Environment Complete 1888- Database of environmental article citations. Includes journals focusing on the full range of environmental topics, including scientific, technical, law & policy, socioeconomic, & popular titles from around the world.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database 1967- Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides coverage of energy-related issues. It covers journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include monographs, government studies and newsletters.
GreenFile . Scholarly, government & general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, & recycling.
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)  . Focuses on sustainability & the environment. Categories include healthcare, food, climate change, population & economic development. Covers English-language newspapers, magazines & refereed journals; videos, podcasts, Web forums & images; case studies, statistics & maps. Portals provide access by topic, organization and country.

 

 

For more databases looking at the scientific aspects of the environment, see http://library.princeton.edu/databases/subject/environment.

General Indexes with Environmental Content

PAIS Public Affairs Information Service 1915+ Subject index to books, periodicals and government documents relating to business, economic and social conditions, public policy and administration, and international relations.
ProQuest Congressional 1789+ Useful source to get to Congressional hearings and Congressional Service Service reports.
Web of Science 1898- (Social Sciences); 1900- (Sciences) Covers select English language periodicals and books. If you know a certain article is a key source in the field, you can use the "Citation Index" to find out who has been citing it. Use with caution. Many works are not included.