Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected data sources
World Development Indicators
From the World Bank, macro data on economic, social, educational, financial, labor, poverty, environmental, health and other social science indicators for more 150 countries.
Human Development Indicators
Each year the Human Development Report (HDR) presents a wealth of statistical information on different aspects of human development. All these data are available for download here in several different ways.
World Values Survey
The WVS is a worldwide network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. The WVS has carried out representative national surveys in 97 societies containing almost 90 percent of the world’s population.
Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. We acquire, preserve, and distribute original research data and provide training in its analysis. We also offer access to publications based on our data holdings.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infanc
ANES Data Center
The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes. Central to this mission is the active involvement of the ANES research community in all phases of the project.
WRDS provides instant access to important databases in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series is a project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world and CPS. Its goals are to:
1) Collect and preserve data and documentation
2) Harmonize data and 3) Disseminate free data.
Corruption Perception Index
The Internet Center for Corruption Research provides you with the TI-Corruption Perceptions Index, a comparative assessment of countries' integrity performance, alongside with related academic research on corruption.
Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) consists of eight topically focused data archives, an online data analysis system, and teaching modules.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Index to the most extensive and complete archive of television news. Streamed video access to NBC and CNN content; other network content available for loan for a fee. Place loan requests through Interlibrary Loan; depending on costs, fees may be covered.
University of Texas Inequality Project
UTIP is a small research group concerned with measuring and explaining movements of inequality in wages and earnings and patterns of industrial change around the world.
IQSS Dataverse Network
Via web application software, data citation standards, and statistical methods, the Dataverse Network project increases scholarly recognition and distributed control for authors, journals, archives, teachers, and others who produce or organize data; facilitates data access and analysis for researchers and students; and ensures long-term preservation whether or not the data are in the public domain.
The primary purpose of this website is to make available the data that Howard Rosenthal and Keith Poole generated out of their many research projects. Keith and Howard adhere to the policy that all of their datasets and software are made freely available to anyone who asks for them.
Institution for Social and Policy Studies
The overall mission of the ISPS Data Archive is to promote the preservation of data in the social sciences, with an emphasis on data from randomized controlled trials. Access to the ISPS Archive is provided at no cost and is granted for scholarship and research purposes only. The Archive currently holds replication files for studies conducted by ISPS-affiliated authors, and includes additional materials associated with a given study as well as high quality metadata.
The ISSP is a continuing annual programme of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research. It brings together pre-existing social science projects and coordinates research goals, thereby adding a cross-national, cross-cultural perspective to the individual national studies.
The Comparative Study of Electoral Systems(CSES) is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies. The resulting data are deposited along with voting, demographic, district and macro variables. The studies are then merged into a single, free, public dataset for use in comparative study and cross-level analysis
General Social Survey
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
Online analysis of GSS, ANES and other datasets using SDA
CQ Congress Collection
This collection is a powerful research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress.
This wealth of data is presented with nonbiased commentary and includes vital biographical and voting data for members of Congress, legislative information organized by topic, key votes, legislative analysis, interest group scores of members, encyclopedic information on Congress, and Supreme Court case summaries relating to the structure and powers of Congress. No other Web site has the functionality, depth, scope, and unique features that make this site such an outstanding electronic reference on the U.S. Congress.