Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRI 112/113: The Craft of Authenticity: Background Information

Guide for using the library for research successfully in Julianna Visco's writing seminar.

Reference Books

Encyclopedias, handbooks and companions are great ways to get background information, understand the terms used to describe some topics, and identify sources related to a particular topic. In addition to the online resources listed below, one can also do a Subject (browse) search in the library catalog: e.g. RENAISSANCE ENCYCLOPEDIAS, identifying any topic you can think of. 

Oxford Art Online

Art encyclopedia articles (PU affiliates):

Crawford, A.  Arts and Crafts MovementGrove Art Online. Retrieved 15 Oct. 2021, from https://www.oxfordartonline.com/groveart/view/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.001.0001/oao-9781884446054-e-7000004452 .

Buszek, M.  Craft and contemporary art. Grove Art Online. Retrieved 15 Oct. 2021, from https://www.oxfordartonline.com/groveart/view/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.001.0001/oao-9781884446054-e-7002220516  

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, 2nd ed. (2014)

Shiner, L. (2014). Craft. In Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. : Oxford University Press. Retrieved 18 Oct. 2021, from https://www-oxfordreference-com.ezproxy.princeton.edu/view/10.1093/acref/9780199747108.001.0001/acref-9780199747108-e-174 .

OBO

Oxford Bibliographies is another great research tool for starting out, although not all disciplines are represented. Use the search box at the upper right, or browse by subject to see the many sub-topics represented in annotated bibliographies within each subject area. (PU affiliates only)

Specific relevant bibliographies:

Artisans, by James Farr, under Renaissance and Reformation  
10.1093/OBO/9780195399301-0067
(paste the DOI/persistent link into a web browser and make sure you are connected to the PU network to access)

Arts and Crafts Movement, by Maureen Meister, under Architecture Planning and Preservation
10.1093/OBO/9780190922467-0012

Folklore, by Simon J. Bronner, under Anthropology  
10.1093/OBO/9780199766567-0131

Visual Culture, by Sophia Andres, under Victorian Literature  
10.1093/OBO/9780199799558-0084

Guilds, by Joseph P. Byrne, under Medieval Studies  
10.1093/OBO/9780195396584-0252         etc.