Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Economics and Finance Resources and Data: Examples for Financial & Economic databases

Examples

 

Citing Major Economic/Financial Databases

Follow the examples below. In your methodology section, state the criteria used in obtaining your results. For many microeconomic data sets, the code book has the correct citation in the front of the documentation. Below are just a few representative examples.


Berkeley Options Database

Berkeley Options Database. (Years). Available: University of California. Berkeley. [access date]. Retrieved from Princeton University Data and Statistical Services Homepage <https://dss.princeton.edu/studies/611>.


Bloomberg

Bloomberg [Online]. (date searched). Available: Bloomberg.


Capital IQ

S&P Capital IQ [Online]. (date searched). Available: S&P Global Market Intelligence..


CEIC

CEIC. (Insert data). In (insert name of database) [Online]. Available: Euromonitor Institutional Investor.

CEIC. April 9, 2021). In Cambodia [Online]. Available: Euromonitor Institutional Investor.



Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source (CEDDS)

Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source (CEDDS). (2020 edition).  Available: Woods & Poole Economics.

COMPUSTAT

Compustat Industrial [Annual Data]. (Years). Available: Standard & Poor's/Compustat [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.

 


CRSP

CRSP Stocks. (Years). Available: Center For Research in Security Prices. Graduate School of Business. University of Chicago [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.

CRSP Mutual Funds . (Years). Available: Center For Research in Security Prices. Graduate School of Business. University of Chicago [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


Data-Planet

Employment and Training Administration, United States Department of Labor (2021-03-19). Initial Unemployment Claims: Initial Unemployment Claims | | Non-Seasonally Adjusted, 01/07/1967 - 02/20/2021. Data Planet™ Statistical Datasets: A SAGE Publishing Resource. (Dataset). Dataset-ID: 060-002-002


 

Datastream

A guide to citing Datastream International, can be found at http://libguides.princeton.edu/datastream/citing


Disclosure SEC

Disclosure SEC [CD-ROM]. (date of disk). Available: Refinitiv.


EIU Products

EIU City Data [Online]. (date searched). Available: Economist Intelligence Unit.

EIU Country Data [Online]. (date searched). Available: Economist Intelligence Unit.

EIU Market Indicators and Forecasts [Online]. (date searched). Available: Economist Intelligence Unit.

 


Emerging Markets Database

Emerging Markets Database. (Years). Available: Standard & Poor's [Access Date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


Execucomp

Standard & Poor's Execucomp. (Years). Available: Standard & Poor's [Access Date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.

 


FAOSTAT

Food and Agriculture Organization. (Year). Data retrieved April 9, 2021, from FAOSTAT database.


Fixed Income Securities Database

Fixed Income Securities Database. (Years). Available: Mergent [Access Date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


Global Financial Data

Global Financial Data [Online]. (date searched). Available: Global Financial Data.


Global Insight

Global Insight. (date searched). In insert name of file [Online]. Available: IHS Global Insight/insert name of section/insert codes.

examples:
Global Insight. (April 9, 2021). In U.S. Industrial and Regional Markets [Online]. Available: IHS Global Insight/MARKETS/NR@LA.

Global Insight. (April 8, 2021). In International Financial Statistics [Online]. Available: IHS Global Insight/IFS.

 

Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)

See https://www.hcup-us.ahrq.gov/tech_assist/citations.jsp

I/B/E/S

 I/B/E/S. (Years). Available: I/B/E/S International [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


ICPSR Datasets

See http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/content/shared/ICPSR/faqs/why-and-how-should-i-cite-data.html


IPOLL Datasets

See https://ropercenter.cornell.edu/publishing-roper-center-data/how-cite

 

Infogroup

 

Historical Business. Academic Version.  (Years). Available: Data Axle [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


ISSM

ISSM. (Years). Available: Institute for the Study of Securities Markets. University of Memphis. [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


Ivy DB Optionmetrics

Ivy DB Optionmetrics (Years). Available: Ivy DB Optionmetrics [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


Markit

Markit. (Years). Available: Markit.com [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


Morningstar

Morningstar Direct [Online]. (date searched). Available: Morningstar.

Morningstar Mutual Funds on Disc [CD-ROM]. (date of disk). Available: Morningstar.

Morningstar Principia Plus for Mutual Funds. [CD-ROM]. (date of disk). Available: Morningstar.

Morningstar Principia for Closed-End Funds [CD-ROM]. (date of disk). Available: Morningstar.

National Center for Health Statistics datasets (NHIS, NAMCS, etc.)

See https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/citations.htm

 

RiskMetrics. Governance Data

 

RiskMetrics. Governance Data. (Years). Available: ISS Governance Services [access date]. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


SDC Databases

Corporate Restructurings [Online]. (date searched). Available: Refinitiv.

Mergers & Acquisitions [Online]. (date searched). Available: Refinitiv.

Global New Issues [Online]. (date searched). Available: Refinitiv.

VentureXpert [Online]. (date searched). Available: Refinitiv.

Social Explorer

 

Data Table Name (Survey Year, Survey Name). In SocialExplorer.com. Retrieved <Date> from <Table URL>

Example:

SE:T8. Age (Census 2010). In SocialExplorer.com. Retrieved July 25, 2018, from https://www.socialexplorer.com/tables/C2010/R11764616

TAQ Database

TAQ Database (Date Searched). Available: New York Stock Exchange. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


Thomson Financial CDA Ownership Data

Thomson Financial CDA Ownership Data (Date Searched). Available: Refintiv. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.


UN comtrade

United Nations Subscription Division. (Year). Data retrieved April 8, 2021, from UNSD Commodity Trade (COMTRADE) database.

or if from WITS

World Bank. (Year). Data retrieved April 9, 2021, from World Integrated Trade Solution.  UNSD Commodity Trade (COMTRADE) database.


World Development Indicators

World Bank. (Year). Data retrieved April 9, 2021, from World Development Indicators Online (WDI) database.


World Integrated Trade Solution

World Bank. (Year). Data retrieved April 9, 2021,  from World Integrated Trade Solution.  UNSD Commodity Trade (COMTRADE) database.

World Bank. (Year). Data retrieved April 8, 2021, from World Integrated Trade Solution.  Tariff and Trade Analysis (TRAINS) database.


Worldscope

Worldscope (Date Searched). Available: Refinitiv. Retrieved from Wharton Research Data Service.