Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Important Print Bibliographies of Criticism
Call Number: Z7032 .Z45 (C floor of Firestone)
Major international serial bibliography for Romance languages. Now issued in three parts: (1) indexes (authors, reviewers, persons, subjects) and other general reference materials; (2) bibliography of language and linguistics studies; and (3) bibliography of literature (editions, history, criticism) and intellectual/cultural history. Each volume includes a general table of contents. The literature volume begins with theoretical and comparative sections, followed by sections for the various literatures, with topical subdivisions.
Full-Text Journal Articles
Note that although these three resources can be exceedingly useful, they do not comprise all the scholarly publications you will want to explore for your independent work.
Full-text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available, but Princeton often has access to more recent volumes in other ways. Do a journal title search in the Main Catalog to learn precisely what issues are available electronically from a particular journal.
Full-text articles from more than 100 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Coverage typically extends to the current issue.
Full-text of scholarly articles from every imaginable field, but it is not possible to know what you may be missing.
Major Databases for Criticism & Theory
In addition to the following, be sure to explore the relevant research guides and subject lists of databases.
Can limit by document type to performance reviews.
Ebsco Academic Search
Use document type entertainment review to restrict your results.
This resource allows you to search by document types performance review or theater review.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, so that you can track the influence of a key source on the subsequent scholarship. This resource is very powerful and is sometimes referred to as the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, its previous name, although it has components for the sciences and the social sciences.
Literature Resource Center
Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.
Literary Reference Center
Broad spectrum of reference information covering the most-studied authors and their works, from antiquity to the present.
MLA International Bibliography
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of literature, language, and linguistics from the Middle Ages to the present. Does not include book reviews, however.
Year's Work in Modern Language Studies
PB1 .Y45 (Trustee Reading Room for 1995 to the present; volumes are shelved termporarily in the card catalog area); link leads to full text for 1930-1994 only.
Citations and abstracts to over 1,775,000 articles in multiple languages in the humanities and social sciences.
Abstracts in French.
Bibliographies appearing in journals, as whole books or parts of books. Bibliographies published in English, German, Dutch, Swedish, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Polish and other languages in the Roman alphabet are included.
Essay and General Literature Index
Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.
Indexes books, dissertations, and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Citations to articles and books in all areas of philosophy. Most comprehensive philosophy database.
ATLA Religion Database
Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.
Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.
Most comprehensive database for all areas of psychology.
Premier tool for identifying scholarly work in Sociology and related fields.
If You Need Doctoral Dissertations
Whenever you identify a Ph.D. dissertation you would like to see (for instance, as a result of searching MLA International Bibliography), you should copy the title of it into the following database. This will usually provide the abstract and, for fairly recent ones, a link to the pdf of the entire work. If you can't get to the full text, either e-mail me or confer with another librarian, in person or via the chat service.
If You Want to Explore Princeton Senior Theses
You can search by academic department, advisor, words in the thesis title, class year, or student name. If you find a senior thesis you would like to read, take the information from this database to the Mudd Manuscript Library. It is located across Olden Street from the E-Quad and between the Computer Science Building and the Carl Fields Center.