Electronic Guide to Reference Works in All Disciplines
- Guide to ReferenceAnnotations of over 16,000 reference works in all fields, from biographical compendia and language dictionaries to specialized encyclopedias, handbooks, and bibliographies. Can be browsed by discipline & type of tool, or else searched by keywords and other criteria.
Printed Guide to Reference Works
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies (5th ed., 2008) by Call Number: Z2011 .H34 2008 (Trustee Reading Room; Scribner Room)ISBN: 9780873528085The emphasis is on reference works for Literatures in English, but there are chapters on periods, genres, and theory that are useful to anyone in Comparative Literature.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. (2009)Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009 (Trustee Reading Room and other locations)ISBN: 9781603290241
Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. (2010)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010 (Trustee Reading Room and other locations)ISBN: 9780226104201Link is to complete online contents. Although your advisors will probably expect you to use MLA style, it is good to know about this tool as well because it answers many questions about how to handle foreign languages in your writing.
Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford English DictionaryConsidered the most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries. Updated quarterly.