Research Guides: Key Library Resources for Journalism: 2) USA Newspapers (current and historical)

NEWSBANK and LEXIS

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, and the Nikkei Weekly. Some titles are abstracted only. Includes selected full-text and abstracts of many industry and general interest publications. For non-English, choose appropriate language.
NewsBank (Access World News) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of many USA and international newspapers.
Nexis UNI (former Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers.

Most of our newspapers in electronic format are contained in the large collections. See also the African American Newspapers Guide.

The following are newspapers that tend to be frequently requested.

Atlanta Journal-Constitution (1868+)

Austin American Statesman (1871-1978, 1989+)

Baltimore Sun (1837+)

Boston Globe (1872+)

Charlotte Observer (Charlotte, NC) (1892+) (Newsbank)

Chicago Tribune (1890+)

Christian Science Monitor (Nov 25, 1908+)

Christian Science Monitor(Lexis Nexis Academic) (January 2, 1980+)
Christian Science Monitor (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (November 25, 1908-2004)

Daily Princetonian (1876+)

Daily Princetonian website (1998+) (select issues)
Lexis-Nexis Academic also includes Princeton's daily student newspaper from September 11, 1997+.
Daily Princetonian Larry DuPraz Digital Archives (1876-2015)

Dallas Morning News (1885+) (NewsBank)

Detroit Free Press (1831+)

Financial Times (1888+)

The Official Index to the Financial Times. 1981-2005 (Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone HG11.A56q
1982+ (access through Lexis-Nexis Academic; text only)
1888-2016 (image access through Gale)
August 2004+ for FT.Com; 2005+ for newspaper (access through FT.COM; IP control plus user has to register for premium account)
- UK edition - November 28, 2005 - present
- Europe edition - January 3, 2006 - present
- US edition - September 1, 2005 - present
- Asia edition - January 28, 2009 - present
- Middle East edition - March 1, 2010 - present

International Herald Tribune (New York) (1841+)

International Herald Tribune (Lexis-Nexis Academic) (July 1, 1991+)
International Herad Tribune (PressReader.com) (current 3 months)
New York Tribune/International Herald Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1841-1962)
International Herald Tribune (Gale) (1887-2013)

Jersey Journal (Jersey City, NJ) (Newsbank) (1867-1977; 1999+)

Los Angeles Times (1881+)

Miami Herald (Newsbank) (1911+)

Newsday (1940+)

New York Times (1851+)

New York Times Digital Edition - Academic Site License (1981+; access through NYT.com; registration required) [limited access to articles 1923-1980]
New York Times (Factiva) (last 2 weeks; allows easy browsing by section)
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1851-December 31, 2015)
New York Times (Proquest Digitized Newspapers) (2008+; 3 month embargo)
New York Times (Proquest) (June 1, 1980+)
Historical Index to the New York Times (1863-1905, and 1913-September 1922)