List of all databases by subject
Finding U.S. Case Law
The most effective way to conduct case law research in at Princeton is to use Westlaw Campus* (available from the Library's Articles & Databases page). However, the best way to use Westlaw Campus, is TO HAVE A RELEVANT CASE CITATION, BEFORE USING WESTLAW CAMPUS.
So, go to Westlaw Campus "armed" with the citation of a relevant case! Where do you find a relevant case law citation? Secondary sources! For example, law journal articles, treatises, even a Google search. By starting out in Westlaw Campus with a citation, it will be much easier to find more cases on your topic than it is to start Westlaw Campus without a citation. See the "Getting Started -- Secondary Resources" tab for more information about secondary legal sources. See below to learn how to find cases on a topic in Westlaw Campus when you start out with relevant citation.
Once you have your citation, enter the Westlaw Campus database and pull up your case by entering its citation in the "Find a Document by citation" search box on the left hand side of the "Law" tab. See below to learn how to understand a case law citation.
*Note: If Westlaw Campus asks for a password, please click the refresh button on your browser. This should allow access to the database without putting in a password.
US CASE LAW IS ALSO SEARCHABLE ON LEXIS ACADEMIC.
General Interest Databases
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowAbstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.
- EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.
- Wilson OmniFile This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
Selected History databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present
Selected Sociology / Psychology / Anthropology databases
More Sociology, Psychology and Anthrolopology Databases
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd ed.) This link opens in a new windowCovering 26 volumes in print, this major encyclopedia aims to capture the "state of the art" of the social and behavioral sciences, expanding its focus to include related biological fields, such as evolutionary science, genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry, and health. Topics include anthropology, archaeology, demography, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowWorldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. 1886+
Selected Performing Arts databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included. 1967+
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new windowOffers in-depth coverage of the worlds foremost academic and popular film journals.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more.
Selected Religion databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals. 1949+
- Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive encyclopedia of religion topics.
Polling Resources
Selected Politics databases
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews.
Selected Science/Technology databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
NOTE: Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401. - Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowArticles on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.
Selected Philosophy databases
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to articles and books in all areas of philosophy. The most comprehensive philosophy database.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles with current bibliographies on virtually every aspect of philosophy. Updated quarterly
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles with current bibliographies on many topics of philosophy.
Selected Literature databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics from 1926-present.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.
- Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new windowProvides information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources with detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.